Q: What are the elections?

Every three years New Zealanders go to the polls to elect their mayor, councillors and community board members (local board members in Auckland). They also get to vote for district health board members and, depending on where they live, local licensing trusts. This year, the election is on October 8.

Q: Who can vote?

All resident electors and non-resident ratepayers whose name appears on the parliamentary electoral roll gets to vote.


Non-resident electors are on the roll in one area and pay rates on a property in another area.