News honours shared at Film & TV Awards

Florian Habicht. Photo / Supplied
Florian Habicht. Photo / Supplied

One News has taken out the top award at tonight's Qantas Film & TV Awards, but honours were mostly split between the two major news networks.

At a star-studded Auckland event, One News were awarded Best News honours while network journalists Amanda Millar, Joanne Mitchell, Mark Crysell and Kate McCallum took out reporting awards.

But 3 News took out three awards thanks to the channel's coverage of the Christchurch earthquake.

Hilary Barry won Best News or Current Affairs Presenter, while Hamish Clark took home Journalist of the Year and Best News Reporting.

The Investigation of the Year award went to Campbell Live for its ongoing reports into the Tsunami Aid Money Investigation in Samoa.

Maori TV took out Best Current Affairs Series for its show Native Affairs.

In the television portion of the show, Best Drama went to This Is Not My Life, 7 Days was named Best Comedy and Best Entertainment went to MasterChef New Zealand.

And in film, Florian Habicht's hyped Love Story took out Best Feature Film and Best Director, while Josh McKenzie's The Hopes and Dreams of Gazza Snell won Outstanding Feature Film Debut.

Rawiri Paratene was named Best actor for The Insatiable Moon, while Michelle Ang won Best Lead Actress for her role in My Wedding and Other Secrets.

Full list of winners

Qantas Best News

ONE News

Best News or Current Affairs Presenter

Hilary Barry, (3 News, Christchurch Earthquake)

Journalist of the Year

Hamish Clark, (3 News, Christchurch Earthquake)

Best News Reporting

Hamish Clark, (3 News, Christchurch Earthquake)

Best Current Affairs Reporting for a weekly programme or one-off current affairs special

Amanda Millar & Joanne Mitchell (TV1, Sunday: Innocent)

Best Current Affairs Reporting for a daily programme

Mark Crysell & Kate McCallum, (TV1, Close Up: Webster)

Best Current Affairs Series

Native Affairs (Maori TV)

Investigation of the Year

John Campbell, Pip Keane & Claudine MacLean, (Campbell Live (TV3) The Tsunami Aid Money Investigation)


Images & Sound Best Drama Programme

This Is Not My Life

NZ On Air Best Comedy or Comedy Series

7 Days

Maori Language Commission/Te Mangai Paho Best Maori Language Programme

E Tu Kahikatea

Best Children's/Youth Programme

Kaitangata Twitch

Best Information Programme

Whare Maori

Auckland Council Best Entertainment/Factual Entertainment Programme

MasterChef New Zealand

Kordia Best Multi-cam Broadcast

Rise Up Christchurch - Global Telethon

Best Observational Reality Series

The Secret Lives of Dancers

Best Constructed Reality Series

Missing Pieces

Best Performance by an Actress

Madeleine Sami, Super City

Best Performance by a Supporting Actress

Rena Owen, Shortland Street

Best Performance by an Actor

Mark Mitchinson, Bloodlines

Best Performance by a Supporting Actor

Craig Hall, Bloodlines

Best Presenter - Entertainment/Factual

Jeremy Corbett, 7 Days

Best Script - Drama/Comedy

James Griffin, Outrageous Fortune

Images & Sound Best Director - Drama/Comedy

Peter Burger, Bloodlines

Best Director - Entertainment/Factual

Dean Cornish & Nick Dwyer, Making Tracks


Best Popular Documentary or Documentary Series

Jesus The Cold Case

Best Arts/Festival/Feature Documentary

I Am The River

Best Director Documentary

Annie Goldson, Brother Number One


Best Feature Film

Love Story

Outstanding Feature Film Debut

Josh McKenzie, The Hopes & Dreams of Gazza Snell

Best Director in a Feature Film

Florian Habicht, Love Story

Best Lead Actor in a Feature Film

Rawiri Paratene, The Insatiable Moon

Best Lead Actress in a Feature Film

Michelle Ang, My Wedding And Other Secrets

Best Supporting Actor in a Feature Film

Greg Johnson, The Insatiable Moon

Best Supporting Actress in a Feature Film

Sara Wiseman, Matariki

Best Screenplay for a Feature Film

Roseanne Liang & Angeline Loo, My Wedding And Other Secrets

Best Short Film

Ebony Society

The following categories were awarded at the AFTA Craft Awards luncheon on November 10.

Images & Sound Best Sound in a Feature Film

Dick Reade & Gethin Creagh, After the Waterfall

Best Editing in a Feature Film

Peter O'Donoghue, Love Story

Best Original Music in a Feature Film

Plan 9, Predicament

Best News Camera

Cameron Williams, (3 News, Niger Series/Airline Investigation)

Best Current Affairs Camera

Martin Anderson, (20/20: Rite of Passage, TV2)

Best Cinematography Documentary/Factual

David Paul, The Banker, The Escorts, and The $18 Million

Best Editing Documentary/Factual

Annie Collins, The Waterfall

Images & Sound Best Editing Drama/Comedy

Allanah Milne, Stolen

Best Cinematography Drama/Comedy

Kevin Riley, Legend of the Seeker

Best Original Music

Don McGlashan, This Is Not My Life

Outstanding Technical Contribution to a Short Film

Maria-Elena Doyle, Meniscus

Best Screenplay for a Short Film

Tammy Davis, Ebony Society

Kordia Best Multi-camera Direction

Darryl McEwen, MasterChef New Zealand

Best Contribution to Design

Jane Holland, Legend of the Seeker

Best Production Design in a Feature Film

John Harding, Predicament

Best Costume Design in a Feature Film

Lesley Burkes-Harding, Predicament

Best News Editing

Paul Sparkes, ONE News Special Report CCTV

Best Current Affairs Editing

Nick Reid, 20/20: Sitting on a Killer

Best Performance in a Short Film

Peter Hawes, BIRD

Best Sound Design

Chris Burt, Legend of the Seeker

Best Production Design

Tracey Collins, This Is Not My Life

Best Make-Up Design in a Feature Film

Angela Mooar, Predicament

Best Visual Effects in a Feature Film

Sauce VFX, Predicament

Best Cinematography in a Feature Film

Simon Raby, Predicament

Get the news delivered straight to your inbox

Receive the day’s news, sport and entertainment in our daily email newsletter


© Copyright 2017, NZME. Publishing Limited

Assembled by: (static) on production bpcf04 at 25 Feb 2017 11:12:03 Processing Time: 614ms