New Zealand plan to be the "sleeping giant" when they take the field in the Wellington sevens on Friday, coach Gordon Tietjens says.

New Zealand are out to undo their losing Wellington tournament run - they have not taken home the winning trophy since 2008.

Tietjens today named 12 players to take a tilt at the home title in the IRB sevens series, with five Commonwealth Games players forming the core of the squad.

It was a lot for the new guys to take on, but any one of them could be the next new star, Tietjens said.

"Can they handle the pressure? I believe they can, I've got five experienced players that went to (the Delhi Commonwealth Games) around them, barring injury I believe they've got the support they need."

The plan was to take the games one at a time, with Fiji, Samoa and England being toughest, he said.

"We've changed out approach a little, probably just trying to down tone it a little bit, and perhaps be the sleeping giant."

Counties Manukau's David Raikuna will make his debut, while newcomer Rory Grice has been bracketed with Waikato teammate Declan O'Donnell who has an ankle injury. A decision on who plays will be made tomorrow.

Back from the squad who won Commonwealth Games gold in October are captain DJ Forbes, Lote Raikabula, Tim Mikkelson, Tomasi Cama and Toby Arnold.

Despite growing up in Fiji, and always supporting the Fiji sevens team, Raikuna said he was very excited to be now playing for New Zealand.

"[In the] early stage of growing up I always watched New Zealand play Fiji. I always went for Fiji, now with the New Zealand team I don't know what's going to happen with that."

It was always a tough game between New Zealand and Fiji, he said.

"A lot of the boys say if you go up against Fiji, go hard, take them on."

And if he was part of the crowd - he would dress in a New Zealand supporters jersey.

New Zealand: DJ Forbes (captain), Toby Arnold, Tomasi Cama, Scott Curry, Frank Halai, Bryce Heem, Solomon King, Tim Mikkelson, Declan O'Donnell/Rory Grice, Buxton Popoalii, Lote Raikubula, David Raikuna