Waikato No 8 Steven Bates will captain an extended Junior All Blacks squad of 29 named today for a three-match tour of Australia later this month.

The squad includes Bates' Waikato teammate Marty Holah, one of the unluckiest to miss All Blacks selection after his storming game for New Zealand Maori against the Lions last night.

Holah was one of 18 recent All Blacks included -- notably wing Joe Rokocoko who lost out to Sitiveni Sivivatu in the All Blacks squad.

John Afoa – Auckland
Sosene Anesi – Waikato
Ben Atiga – Auckland
Steve Bates – Waikato (captain)
Josh Blackie – Otago
Ben Castle – Bay of Plenty
Jimmy Cowan – Southland
Clarke Dermody – Southland
Steve Devine – Auckland
Stephen Donald – Waikato
Nick Evans – Otago
Corey Flynn – Canterbury
Scott Hamilton – Canterbury
David Hill – Waikato
Carl Hoeft – Otago
Marty Holah – Waikato
Andrew Hore – Taranaki
Jerome Kaino – Auckland
Ross Kennedy – Wellington
Casey Laulala – Canterbury
Chris Masoe – Taranaki
Luke McAlister - North Harbour
Craig Newby - North Harbour
Kevin O'Neill – Canterbury
Caleb Ralph – Canterbury
Joe Rokocoko – Auckland
Saimone Taumoepeau – Auckland
Bernie Upton - Bay of Plenty
Piri Weepu – Wellington

The squad assembles in Christchurch on Thursday June 16 to prepare for matches against the Queensland Reds and Australia A.

The squad will be coached by Colin Cooper and Ian Foster.