Rachin Ravindra appeared to have Sybrand Engelbrecht stumped with a wide delivery in the 41st over, withthe wicket leaving the Netherlands 197 for eight in their chase of 323.
Initial replays showed it was a fairly standard stumping, with quick work by Tom Latham behind the stumps, but Engelbrecht walked all the way to the boundary before being told to wait as third umpire Joel Wilson checked something.
After reviewing the replay, it was ruled that the tips of Latham’s gloves were in line with the stumps.
“He’s not wholly behind the stumps so I have a no ball,” the third umpire rightfully said.
It was a decision that left New Zealand great and commentator Ian Smith flabbergasted.
“Oh you’re kidding me,” Smith could be heard off-mic before weighing in on the not-out decision.
A view from above as Tom Latham receives the ball behind the line of the stumps. Photo / Sky Sport
“Well, I’ve gotta say as a former keeper that’s the most bizarre thing I’ve ever seen. That is just crazy. When the ball went into his gloves they were clearly behind the stumps. They might have been initially in front but when the ball went into the gloves, clearly behind the stumps,” Smith went on.
According to the laws of cricket, rule 27.3.1: “The wicketkeeper shall remain wholly behind the wicket at the striker’s end from the moment the ball comes into play until a ball delivered by the bowler, touches the bat or person of the striker or, passes the wicket at the striker’s end or the striker attempts a run”.
In the end the decision didn’t impact the game with Engelbrecht dismissed four overs later, adding just 10 more runs to his score, as the Netherlands fell well short of the target for their second defeat of the tournament.