After 460 professional games, 21 seasons and 17 major trophies across two codes, Brad Thorn has drawn the curtain on an incredible career.

Thorn played the final game of his unparalleled rugby league and union career overnight when his Leicester Tigers suffered a semi-final defeat to Sam Burgess' Bath outfit.

The 40-year-old began his career in rugby league, representing Australia eight times.

Having made the switch to union, Thorn then went on to earn 59 caps for the All Blacks, winning the World Cup in 2011.


The former Crusaders, Leinster and Highlanders forward joined the Premiership Tigers last August, and went on to become the oldest captain in the club's history earlier this season.

Thorn has long stuggled with the idea of retirement, and recently told the Leicester Mercenary that he couldn't even say the word.

"The hard part about discussing the 'R Word' is that my body is not broken. I am really enjoying my rugby and feel like I am really contributing. So it's not easy. When your body is broken and you are not performing, it must be easier.

Brad Thorn's 21-year career

1994: Makes debut for rugby league side Brisbane Broncos.

2001: Switches codes and joins Crusaders.

2002: Takes a year out of the game before rejoining Crusaders and making his All Blacks debut a year later.

2005: Goes back to league, rejoining Broncos and making 70 more appearances for the club.


2008: Switches back to union again in 2008 and wins the World Cup with New Zealand in 2011.

2014: Joins Leicester Tigers, becoming the oldest captain in club history against Saracens.

2015: Announces retirement aged 40.

Thorn's trophy cabinet
1997 Super League title
1997 World Club Championship
1998 State of Origin title
1998 NRL title
1999 State of Origin title
2000 NRL title
2001 NPC title
2003 Tri Nations
2003 Bledisloe Cup holder
2004 NPC title
2006 NRL title
2008 Super 14 title
2008 Tri Nations
2008 Grand Slam
2009 Bledisloe Cup holder
2010 Bledisloe Cup holder
2010 Grand Slam
2008 Tri Nations
2010 Tri Nations
2011 Bledisloe Cup holder
2011 Rugby World Cup winner
2012 Heineken Cup title