Te Waka Huia have claimed their fifth Te Matatini Kapa Haka Festival title.

The Auckland-based team equalled Waihirere's record for most titles won by a group.

The winners were announced in the sweltering heat at the Rotorua International Stadium.

Waka Huia last won the title in Tauranga in 2009 and had to overcome a spirited top nine teams' finals which included Te Arawa group and 2012 defending champions Te Mataarae i Orehu.


Although the Rotorua group managed to win top male leader for Wetini Mitai-Ngatai as well as best haka in the aggregate round the group didn't make the top five with Te Whanau a Apanui second overall and Tu Te Manawa Maurea, Te Iti Kahurangi and Whangara Mai Tawhiti third equal overall.

About 15,000 spectators attended the fourth and final day with temperatures soaring to 25C.

The next festival will be held in two years time in Christchurch.

Aggregate Awards
Overall winner
1st Te Whaka Huia
2nd Te Whanau-a-Apanui
3rd Tu Te Manawa Maurea, Te Iti Kahurangi and Whangara Mai Tawhiti

Kaitataki tane (male leader)
Wetini Mitai-Ngatai (Te Mataarae i Orehu)

Kaitataki wahine (female leader)
Tiare Kata Teinakore (Te Iti Kahurangi)

Te Iti Kahurangi

Te Iti Kahurangi

Te Iti Kahurangi

Opotiki Mai Tawhiti

Te Mataarae i Orehu

Te Whanau-a-Apanui