Warriors captain Roger Tuivasa-Sheck capped a stellar NRL season by winning both the Dally M Medal as the best player in the game and the Fullback of the Year award.

After leading the Warriors back to the playoffs for the first time in seven years, Tuivasa-Sheck was recognised as the best player throughout the regular season at a glitzy gala dinner at Sydney's Circular Quay last night.

The 25-year-old topped the tally in a tense final round of voting to become the first Warriors player to win the award in the club's 25-year history, edging out Newcastle fullback Kalyn Ponga and Cronulla's Valentine Holmes and a late season surge from Wests Tigers halfback Luke Brooks.

Tuivasa-Sheck polled 29 points while just four points separated the top four players in the final voting.


"This is crazy," said an emotional Tuivasa-Sheck after accepting his trophy and medal.

"I remember the first time we came to these awards on 2013 and Cooper Cronk won that Dally M award.

"I remember sitting there thinking 'it would be a dream to win that award' and not knowing that day would ever come.

"I'm just feeling truly blessed to be standing up here holding this trophy and wearing this medal."

Recognition for the Kiwi international comes after he scored three tries, and made eight try assists in 22 appearances throughout the regular season.

The 2013 Winger of the Year award and the 2015 Fullback of the Year also made 112 tackle breaks, and 13 line breaks, while he also ranked second for kick return metres with 1,366 and was third for run metres with 4,109, averaging 178.4 metres per game.

Tuivasa-Sheck spoke with emotion as he thanked his family and parents for their "constant love and support and for always keeping me grounded" before also paying tribute to his Warriors teammates, coaching staff and management, along with his fiancée Ashley Walker.

"Even when we weren't going so well you guys were there and buzzing and that's what I loved about the club this year," he said.

"Finally I just want to say a big thanks to my partner Ashley. She couldn't be her tonight but this is for you, babe."

Following his acceptance speech, Tuivasa-Sheck stood by as his teammates, led by hooker Issac Luke, and Tevaga, along with Canberra wing and fellow Kiwi international Jordan Rapana performed a haka in his honour.

Tuivasa-Sheck's awards came after versatile Warriors forward Jazz Tevaga also claimed the Interchange player of the Year award, while wing David Fusitu'a received the Ken Irvine Medal as the NRL's Top Try Scorer.

Fusitu'a crossed for 22 tries in 22 games throughout the regular season before the Tongan international added another four-pointer in the Warriors loss to Penrith in week one of the finals.

The night was one to remember for the Warriors, who had seven representatives nominated for 10 awards.

Earlier in the night, Tuivasa-Sheck missed out on the Captain of the Year award, which went to Melbourne Storm skipper Cameron Smith. Warriors coach Stephen Kearney was also overlooked for the Coach of the Year award, which was claimed by Rabbitohs mentor Anthony Seibold.

Warriors forwards Tohu Harris (Second-rower of the Year), and Luke (Hooker of the Year), also received nominations for their respective positions, while dummy-half Krystal Rota was a contender for the Female Player of the Year.

The full list of winners is:

Dally M Player of the Year: Roger Tuivasa-Sheck (Warriors)
Captain of the Year: Cameron Smith (Melbourne Storm)
Coach of the Year: Anthony Seibold (South Sydney Rabbitohs)
Peter Moore Award for Rookie of the Year: Jamayne Isaako (Brisbane Broncos)
Fullback of the Year: Roger Tuivasa-Sheck (Warriors)
Winger of the Year: Blake Ferguson (Sydney Roosters)
Centre of the Year: Joseph Leilua (Canberra Raiders)
Five-eighth of the Year: Cameron Munster (Melbourne Storm)
Halfback of the Year: Luke Brooks (Wests Tigers)
Lock of the Year: Jason Taumalolo (North Queensland Cowboys)
Second-rower of the Year: Josh Jackson (Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs)
Prop of the Year: Andrew Fifita (Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks)
Hooker of the Year: Damien Cook (South Sydney Rabbitohs)
Interchange Player of the Year: Jazz Tevaga (Warriors)
Top Points Scorer: Jamayne Isaako (Brisbane Broncos)
Top Try Scorer: David Fusitu'a (Warriors)
Provan Summons People's Choice Medal: Damien Cook (South Sydney Rabbitohs)
Female Player of the Year: Brittany Breayley (Brisbane Broncos)
Peter Frilingos Headline Moment: Holden Women's State of Origin
Ken Stephen Medal: Ryan James (Gold Coast Titans)

See how the Dally M Awards unfolded below: