Los Angeles-based funk-rock titans Red Hot Chili Peppers have returned with their first new single in five years.

Dark Necessities, a funky slow-burner based around a piano riff, is the first taste from the band's new album The Getaway due out on June 17.

It's their first single since 2011's I'm With You album, and Consequence of Sound reported it's produced by Danger Mouse - the first album not produced by Rick Rubin since 1989's Mothers Milk.

The Chilis have already announce a tour in support of the album.


The Getaway Tracklist:

01. The Getaway
02. Dark Necessities
03. We Turn Red
04. The Longest Wave
05. Goodbye Angels
06. Sick Love
07. Go Robot
08. Feasting on the Flowers
09. Detroit
10. This Ticonderoga
11. Encore
12. The Hunter
13. Dreams of a Samurai