A state of emergency has been declared in Florida as tropical storm Nate heads towards the state.

Governor Rick Scott has today declared a state of emergency in 29 counties within Florida.

Scott said he was ensuring local governments had ample time, resources and flexibility to get prepared for this storm and were not hindered, delayed or prevented from taking all necessary actions to keep communities safe.

"Tropical Storm Nate is headed north toward our state and Florida must be prepared. I have continued to be briefed by the Florida Division of Emergency Management on Tropical Storm Nate and while current forecast models have the storm's centre west of Florida, we must be vigilant and get prepared," Scott said.


"Today, given these forecasts, I have declared a state of emergency for 29 counties in Florida to make certain that state, federal and local governments are able to work together and ensure resources are dispersed to local communities.

"By declaring an emergency in these counties, we can also ensure that there is no hindrance in the transportation of supplies and assets."

He urged residents to remain vigilant, stay alert and be prepared.

"We will keep monitoring and issuing updates on Tropical Storm Nate as it approaches the Gulf Coast," he said.

The counties under the state of emergency are Escambia, Santa Rosa, Okaloosa, Walton, Holmes, Washington, Bay, Jackson, Calhoun, Gulf, Gadsden, Liberty, Franklin, Leon, Wakulla, Jefferson, Madison, Taylor, Hamilton, Suwannee, Lafayette, Dixie, Columbia, Gilchrist, Levy, Baker, Union, Bradford, and Alachua counties.

This comes just weeks after Hurricane Irma hit the state leaving a trail of destruction in its wake.