A field of eight competitors contested the Taranaki Sprintcar champs at Stratford Speedway on Saturday night and impressed with their extremely quick lap times.

A large crowd was in the house to witness the action packed nights racing that also included the John and Gary Adamson Superstock Memorials, Sam Korff Saloon Memorial, Streetstock Best Pairs and Youth Ministock City of New Plymouth Classic.

Wellington driver Stephen Taylor won the Taranaki Sprintcar champs after securing a pole position start for the one race final when he recorded a first and fourth place in the qualifying heats. He led the fifteen lap final race from start to finish. Tony Uhlenberg came home in second place while Palmerston North's Zac Harris was third.

Taylor was super quick around the Stratford track and recorded a fastest lap time of 12.39 seconds which is almost two seconds quicker than any other car in any class has been around the track this season.


A large field of 22 Superstocks raced for the Adamson Memorials. Included in the starting line-up were Palmerston North contracted racers Adam and Scott Joblin, Gisborne contracted drivers Peter and Ethan Rees and Jared Wade from Huntly.

After the three races it was P. Rees who had finished consistently enough to win the John Adamson Memorial by one point from his son Ethan. Local driver Wayne Moss was third.

There was a good amount of contact and action during the three races after which Mitch Vickery was awarded the Gary Adamson Memorial for the best stirrer. Vickery was spotted taking shots at Bruce Williams and Jared Wade among others on his way to getting hold of the trophy.

Thomas Korff was a man on a mission in the Saloon class and made up good ground in all three races to be the clear winner of the Sam Korff Memorial after the three heats. Korff's passing manoeuvres ensured that he won the event three points clear of his nearest rivals.

Daniel Hinton was second and Craig Korff third after the pair, along with Richard Dreaver, took part in a four lap run off to determine the minor placings. Racing off the back of the Saloon class was Blondie Chamberlain in his weird looking Super Saloon.

Chamberlain clipped the wall in the third race and his car impressively burst into flames. He climbed from the car unscathed.

Matthew Picard had a good night in the Youth Ministock class and won the City of New Plymouth Classic after recording two fifth placings and a first. Hamish Edgecombe and Zane Riddick filled the minor placings, in that order.

Steve Reed and Nigel Shingleton won the Streetstock Best Pairs by a large margin from Chris Shingleton and Darryl Washer. Paul Blinkhorne and Shaun Hall were third.