Former prime minister John Key has had another moment to forget on the sporting stage.

Key, who infamously got himself tangled in a three-way handshake with Richie McCaw and International Rugby Board chairman Bernard Lapasset at the 2011 World Cup trophy presentation, had another awkward moment last night when presenting the Halberg Sportsman of the Year award to Tom Walsh.

Walsh was presented with his trophy by 1981 Halberg Supreme title winner, athlete Allison Roe, with Key part of the presentation.

Key shuffled around awkwardly four times during the presentation, appearing to be unaware of what order the photo/acceptance speech/handshakes should take.


"It's not very often John Key gives you the wrong directions, is it?" cracked Walsh as his first remark. "He tried to set me up for a photo first."

: Tom Walsh (L) winner of the ISPS Handa Sportsman of the Year and Sir John Key (R) at the 56th ISPS Handa Halberg Awards. Photo / Getty Images.
: Tom Walsh (L) winner of the ISPS Handa Sportsman of the Year and Sir John Key (R) at the 56th ISPS Handa Halberg Awards. Photo / Getty Images.

Walsh collected the Sportsman of the Year trophy for the second consecutive year before being presented the supreme Halberg Award by Rob Waddell at the ceremony at Spark Arena.

The 26-year-old was recognised for his outstanding achievements last year including victories at the World Indoor Championship, Commonwealth Games and Diamond League events. His win saw him edge out freeskier Nico Porteous and motor racers Scott McLaughlin and Scott Dixon to claim the Sportsman category.

Walsh paid tribute to the inspiring work done by the Halberg Foundation during his acceptance speech for the supreme award.

"What an absolute honour," he said.

"I really didn't think I was in with a shot. The Halberg Foundation does some wonderful work and we're all enjoying seeing the kids up there that give us ... I'm a little bit lost for words ... that give us the courage to really do what we do because it's tough for them.

"But if they can do it we can all do it."

Ten awards and a Sports Hall of Fame inductee were presented during the evening which was hosted by the Halberg Foundation and served as a fundraiser for the charity established by Olympic athletics champion Sir Murray Halberg (ONZ).

Olympic gold medal winning canoer Lisa Carrington swept the Sportswoman of the Year award for her third year running.

The full list of winners and finalists for the 56th Halberg Awards:
Halberg Award winner:

Tom Walsh (athletics)

Finalists: Lisa Carrington (canoe racing), Adam Hall (Para alpine skiing), Black Ferns Sevens (rugby union).

New Zealand Sportswoman of the Year winner: Lisa Carrington (canoe racing)

Finalists: Joelle King (squash), Jonelle Price (equestrian), Zoi Sadowski-Synnott (snowboarding).

Sportsman of the Year winner: Tom Walsh (athletics)

Finalists: Nico Porteous (freeskiing), Scott Dixon (motorsport), Scott McLaughlin (motorsport).

Para Athlete/Team of the Year winner: Adam Hall (Para alpine skiing)

Finalists: Corey Peters (Para alpine skiing), Scott Martlew (Para canoe racing), Sophie Pascoe (Para swimming).

Team of the Year winner: Black Ferns Sevens (rugby union)

Finalists: All Blacks Sevens (rugby union), NZ Football Under 17 Women (football), NZ Women's Kayaking Team (canoe racing), Vantage Black Sticks Women (hockey).

Buddle Findlay Coach of the Year winner: Gordon Walker (canoe racing)

Finalists: Allan Bunting (rugby union), Clark Laidlaw (rugby union), Joe Schmidt (rugby union), Leon Birnie (football).

Emerging Talent winner: Maddison-Lee Wesche (athletics)

Finalists: Amelia Kerr (cricket), Anna Leat (football), Josh Armit (yachting), Lewis Clareburt (swimming).

New Zealand's Favourite Sporting Moment winner: Anna Leat (football)

Finalists: Nico Porteous and Zoi Sadowski-Synnott (snowsports), David Liti (weightlifting), Kelly Brazier (rugby union), Black Sticks Women (hockey), Amelia Kerr (cricket), Roger Tuivasa-Sheck (Warriors rugby league), Auckland Rugby (rugby union), Black Caps (cricket), Anna Leat (football).

Sport New Zealand Leadership Award winner: Dr Farah Palmer (rugby union)

Hall of Fame inductee: Beatrice Faumuinā (athletics)

Lifetime Achievement Award winner: Barry Hunt (athletics)