Spin bowler Mitchell Santner is the sole New Zealander named in the ICC World T20 team of the tournament following yesterday's thrilling final.

There is a bigger representation in the women's team with four White Ferns making the side.

Both the Black Caps and White Ferns went through pool play unbeaten before falling in the semifinals.

Santner finished tied for the most wickets in the main draw of the tournament, alongside teammate Ish Sodhi, England's David Willey and Shakib Al Hasan of Bangladesh.


Four players from the champion West Indies team were named in the side, along with three from England and just one Australian in Shane Watson.

Suzie Bates, Sophie Devine, Rachel Priest and Leigh Kasperek were all named in the women's side.

ICC men's team of the tournament: Jason Roy (England), Quinton de Kock (South Africa, wicketkeeper), Virat Kohli (India, captain), Joe Root (England), Jos Buttler (England), Shane Watson (Australia), Andre Russell (West Indies), Mitchell Santner (New Zealand), David Willey (England), Samuel Badree (West Indies), Ashish Nehra (India). 12th man: Mustafizur Rahman (Bangladesh).

ICC women's team of the tournament: Suzie Bates (New Zealand), Charlotte Edwards (England), Meg Lanning (Australia), Stafanie Taylor (West Indies, captain), Sophie Devine (New Zealand), Rachel Priest (New Zealand, wicketkeeper), Deandra Dottin (West Indies), Megan Schutt (Australia), Sune Luus (South Africa), Leigh Kasperek (New Zealand), Anya Shrubsole (England); 12th player: Anam Amin (Pakistan).