The British and Irish Lions will play the All Blacks twice at Eden Park in 2017, along with matches against all of the New Zealand Super Rugby franchises, it was revealed today.

The Lions, touring New Zealand for the first time since 2005, will play a three-test series against the All Blacks, the first being in Auckland on June 24, followed by the second test in Wellington the following Saturday.

The third and final test will see the two teams return to Eden Park, meaning the Lions won't play a test in the South Island for the first time since 1904.

The Lions, who lost the series 3-0 in 2005, will open the tour in Whangarei against a provincial union team. They then face the Blues at Eden Park on June 7 for the first of three matches at the ground.


Three days later they face the Crusaders at AMI Stadium followed by a match-up against the Highlanders in Dunedin on June 13.

On June 17 is the traditional fixture against the Maori All Blacks in Rotorua followed by a match against the Chiefs in Hamilton on June 17. They also play the hurricanes at Westpac Stadium on June 27, inbetween the first and second test.

"The British & Irish Lions Tour is one of those very special events for any rugby fan and we all remember how the 2005 Series captivated this country. The 2017 Series is likely to be one of the most significant sporting events our country has hosted since Rugby World Cup 2011 and perhaps the biggest New Zealand will host for some time, New Zealand Rugby Chief Executive Steve Tew said.

"The Series will feature matches throughout New Zealand and in addition to 10 All Blacks Tests in 2016 and 2017, there'll be enormous opportunity for the whole country to not only enjoy quality international rugby, but to also share in the economic benefits that the matches present.

"More than 20,000 Lions supporters travelled to New Zealand in 2005, generating more than $135m in benefits - we're confident the 2017 Series will exceed these figures.

The tour is the twelfth by a combined British Isles side to New Zealand. The first was in 1888 and the most recent 10 years ago.

Full details on securing tickets is expected to be unveiled in November with international tickets and travel packages only available through All Black Tours and Lions Rugby Travel.

New Zealand Rugby have also confirmed that Wales will play three tests in New Zealand next year, at Eden Park, Westpac Stadium and Forsyth Barr Stadium. Waikato Stadium will host Argentina next year and South Africa will play at AMI Stadium.


Australia will take on the All Blacks in Wellington Rugby Championship before returning for the third Bledisloe Cup test in Auckland later in the October.

2017 Lions Tour
3 June v Provincial Union Team, Toll Stadium, Whangarei
7 June v Blues, Eden Park, Auckland
10 June v Crusaders, AMI Stadium, Christchurch
13 June v Highlanders, Forsyth Barr Stadium, Dunedin
17 June v Maori All Blacks, Rotorua International Stadium
20 June v Chiefs, Waikato Stadium Hamilton
24 June v All Blacks (1st test), Eden Park, Auckland
27 June v Hurricanes, Westpac Stadium, Wellington
1 July v All Blacks (2nd test), Westpac Stadium, Wellington
8 July v All Blacks (3rd tst), Eden Park, Auckland

2016 All Blacks schedule
11 June v Wales, Eden Park, Auckland
18 June v Wales, Westpac Stadium, Wellington
25 June v Wales, Forsyth Barr Stadium, Dunedin
27 August v Australia, Westpac Stadium, Wellington
10 September v Argentina, Waikato Stadium, Hamilton
17 September v South Afria, AMI Stadium, Christchurch