Defending world Formula One champion Sebastian Vettel will start from pole position for the Australian Grand Prix, with Australian teammate Mark Webber second.

The two Red Bull drivers set the pace throughout qualifying on Sunday morning, after the remaining two sessions of qualifying were postponed from Saturday after heavy rain and poor visibility.

Vettel and Webber set their flying laps late in a frenetic last two minutes of the final 10-minute session as drivers swapped to supersoft tyres, providing more grip as the track dried out from rain earlier in the day.

The German's 1min 27.407sec lap outflanked Webber by more than four-tenths of a second.


Briton Lewis Hamilton made a great start with his new team Mercedes, qualifying third.

He will start alongside Ferrari's Felipe Massa on the second row of the grid.

The other Australian in the race, Daniel Ricciardo, will start from 14th on the 22-car grid in his Toro Rosso.

Sunday's 58-lap race is scheduled to start at 7pm (NZT).

Starting grid:
1. Sebastian Vettel (GER/RBR)
2. Mark Webber (AUS/RBR)
3. Lewis Hamilton (ENG/MER)
4. Felipe Massa (BRA/FER)
5. Fernando Alonso (ESP/FER)
6. Nico Rosberg (GER/MER)
7. Kimi Raikkonen (FIN/LOT)
8. Romain Grosjean (FRA/LOT)
9. Paul Di Resta (SCO/FOR)
10. Jenson Button (ENG/MLA)
11. Nico Hulkenberg (GER/SAU)
12. Adrian Sutil (GER/FOR)
13. Jean-Eric Vergne (FRA/TOR)
14. Daniel Ricciardo (AUS/TOR)
15. Sergio Perez (MEX/MLA)
16. Valtteri Bottas (FIN/WIL)
17. Pastor Maldonado (VEN/WIL)
18. Esteban Gutierrez (MEX/SAU)
19. Jules Bianchi (FRA/MAR)
20. Max Chilton (ENG/MAR)
21. Giedo van der Garde (NED/CAT)
22. Charles Pic (FRA/CAT)