The All Blacks may have to wait until the Rugby World Cup for glory as last night's Halberg Awards went All White.

The national soccer side scored a hat-trick at the ceremony, winning the Halberg Award, being named Team of the Year with coach Ricki Herbert taking the Coach of the Year title.

Winston Reid's last-minute goal in the All Whites' first world cup finals game was also voted "New Zealand's favourite sporting moment".

Read: Dylan Cleaver on why the All Whites should not have won Halberg prize

It is the first time soccer has taken the Halberg Award, widely seen as New Zealand's most coveted sporting prize, since the inaugural "Sportsman of the Year" title in 1949.

Other finalists for the team category were the All Blacks, the Kiwis, rowing pair Eric Murray and Hamish Bond, and the Silver Ferns.

But All Black captain Richie McCaw ensured it wasn't a total whitewash for rugby as he took the Sportsman category ahead of All Whites captain Ryan Nelsen, and Commonwealth Games golden girl Valerie Adams won Sportswoman.

McCaw said he was humbled by the recognition and was excited about the Rugby World Cup campaign. "Every time I put on the black jersey the hairs stand up on the back of the neck ... I never take it for granted."

The All Whites defied all predictions that they would be wooden-spooners at the 2010 Fifa World Cup in South Africa, holding Slovakia, fourth-ranked Italy and Paraguay to epic draws.

The team ended the tournament as the only unbeaten side, and were ranked ahead of four-time World Cup winners Italy and 1998 champions France.

The All Whites were presented with the award by John Adshead and Steve Sumner, coach and captain of the 1982 All Whites who made the World Cup finals in Spain, after an announcement by celebrity guest Willie Apiata, VC, and three-time Halberg winner Rob Waddell.

New Zealand's soccer team also received a personal tribute message from Fifa president Sepp Blatter.

Herbert, who also steered the Wellington Phoenix to the A-League finals last year, headed off All Blacks coach Graham Henry, Kiwis coach Stephen Kearney and NZ Sevens coaching guru Gordon Tietjens for the coaching title.

2010 Halberg Award: All Whites.

Team of the Year: All Whites.

Coach of the Year: Ricki Herbert.

Sportsman of the Year: Richie McCaw.

Sportswoman of the Year: Valerie Adams.

Emerging Talent Award: Gareth Kean.

Favourite Sporting Moment: Winston Reid's last-minute goal for the All Whites.