Phil Goff elected Mayor of Auckland
Local elections: Mayoral results
North Island: Local election results as they come in
South Island: Local election results as they come in
Lianne Dalziel to remain as Christchurch Mayor
Wellington elects a new mayor

Preliminary results are in for most of the country in today's local council elections.

Sheryl Mai has won another term as Whangarei's mayor and Greg Brownless has been elected Tauranga's new mayor.

Auckland has elected Phil Goff its new mayor.


Former National MP Sandra Goudie is the new mayor of Thames-Coromandel.

Hastings mayor Lawrence Yule has kept his job, with an easy majority, despite the controversial gastro crisis.

Meng Foon has won a sixth term as Gisborne's mayor, and Taupo District Mayor David Trewavas has been reelected, beating Christine Rankin.

Ruapehu has voted to return mayor Don Cameron, and Nelson mayor Rachel Reese has won re-election.

Both Lower and Upper Hutt mayors look set to retain their jobs.

Lianne Dalziel has won the Christchurch mayoral race in a landslide, with a 60,000 vote margin between she and her nearest rival, John Minto.

Businessman and former Christchurch International Airport boss Jim Boult ousted Lyal Cocks by some 3000 votes in Queenstown.

In Otago, brothers Bryan and Tim Cadogan are believed to have made history after becoming mayors in neighbouring districts.

"To our knowledge it's the first time in modern history, I suppose, that we've (had) neighbouring mayors," Tim Cadogan said.

Cadogan said he was looking forward to leading Central Otago.

"I'm really humbled by what has occurred today."

Bryan will lead Clutha for the third term.

Tim Shadbolt has been re-elected as mayor of Invercargill.

See all the results as they rolled in throughout the day.