The Auckland Council is reminding visitors to Auckland's volcanic cones that from tomorrow vehicle gates to all summits will open at 7am and close at 7pm.

This was to align with daylight savings, and security officers would be on site to remind visitors of the change, the council said.

Pedestrian access to the summits would not be affected.

The changes apply to the following summits:


- Mangere Mountain

- Maungakiekie / One Tree Hill

- Maungarei / Mt Wellington

- Maungawhau / Mt Eden

- Ohuiarangi / Pigeon Mountain

- Otahuhu / Mt Richmond

- Owairaka / Te Ahi-ka-a-Rakataura / Mt Albert

- Pukewiwi / Puketapapa / Mt Roskill


- Takarunga / Mt Victoria