The problem with singles collections is that they are made up of the most well-known songs. And if you're really going to celebrate a 10-year birthday, as Damon Albarn's cartoon band the Gorillaz are doing, then surely a deluxe double-disc collection of songs is the best way to go?

Though all the songs you want to be here are - like the sauntering, eerie urban dub of opener Tomorrow Comes Today, cheeky dance poppers Feel Good Inc. and Dare and the brilliant future soul bop of Stylo off 2010's Plastic Beach - sadly, there are some gems missing. The delightful, deadpan whimsy of Rhinestone Eyes (arguably the best song from Plastic Beach) is left out, and the obnoxious short and rowdy ditty Punk from 2001's self-titled debut would have added some trademark Gorillaz attitude.

And what about some of the more bent and twisted collaborations, like Glitter Freeze with Mark E. Smith from the Fall, Fire Coming Out of the Monkey's Head with Dennis Hopper's unnerving narrative, and the trippy swagger of Every Planet We Reach is Dead, where Ike Turner chimes in with layers of piano?

But for a bunch of rogue fictional cartoon characters they sure had a heap of hits, and it's remarkable how early songs such as Clint Eastwood and 19-2000 still sound fresh and fun today.


Stars: 3.5/5
Verdict: All the hits, but missing the interesting bits

Buy this album here.