But, late on Wednesday night, Sutton conceded it was the wrong decision.
"However, having reviewed the decision, it can be seen the ball rotates, which indicates possession has been lost," Sutton said.
"And from this point, Nene Macdonald is required to catch, hold or re-grip the ball before the ball comes in contact with the ground to score a try.
"As Nene was unable to resecure possession, the correct ruling should have been knock-on."
Sutton's comments came after Robinson said he didn't believe the try should have been awarded, but was more concerned about his side's own attack than the decision even though he had hopes of a comeback.
"I don't think it was a try, simply," Robinson said.
"But we've got to get some stuff right for ourselves. To be honest, I don't care.
"Even though I thought 18-8 was a good opportunity."
Macdonald insisted he thought he had put the ball down fairly, but admitted replays hadn't helped his case as he watched the big scren as the bunker deliberated.
"I was pretty 50-50," Macdonald said.
"I thought I had a finger to it and I don't think the film gave me much justice. But I thought I got it.
"Cronk got across and hit my arm and I think I just had my fingers to it. I was sort of losing it. If the ground was a centimetre lower, I would have lost it."
-AAP