Sam, Thomas and George Burgess headline a strong England squad to take on the Kiwis in Denver later this month.

The heavyweight trio are three of six players from the NRL and will be joined by James Graham, Elliott Whitehead and Gareth Widdop, who all played in England's narrow World Cup Final loss to Australia last year.

St Helen's lead the way with five of the 13 Super League-based players selected, with Wigan Warriors providing three of the squad as Sean O'Loughlin, John Bateman and George Williams all take their place in the final 19-man squad.

England coach Wayne Bennett has also included the uncapped trio of Hull FC's Jake Connor and St Helens' Luke Thompson and Tommy Makinson for the mid-season Test in Colorado.


"I have selected a strong squad that I believe has the ability and talent to beat New Zealand in Denver," said Bennett. "The game is going to be a tough one but we will go into it with confidence.

"We have been impressed with all the players this season and the three uncapped players deserve their call ups after showing their talent and determination both on and off the field. We have always been clear that the door to the senior squad is open to any player showing the form to be selected. The squad has a real mix of experience and youth and that will prove important during our time in Denver.

"Playing a mid-season test against Samoa last year proved invaluable and I'm sure this will be the same. It gives the team a chance to spend time together and me and my coaching staff to see how they perform together against one of the best teams in the World ahead of the International Test Series in the Autumn."

England Squad for the Test Match against the Kiwis:
John Bateman (Wigan Warriors)
George Burgess (South Sydney Rabbitohs)
Sam Burgess(South Sydney Rabbitohs)
Thomas Burgess (South Sydney Rabbitohs)
Jake Connor (Hull FC)
James Graham (St George Illawarra Dragons)
Ryan Hall (Leeds Rhinos)
Chris Hill (Warrington Wolves)
Jonny Lomax (St Helens)
Tommy Makinson (St Helens)
Jermaine McGillvary (Huddersfield Giants)
Sean O'Loughlin (Wigan Warriors)
Mark Percival (St Helens)
Stefan Ratchford (Warrington Wolves)
James Roby (St Helens)
Luke Thompson (St Helens)
Gareth Widdop (St George Illawarra Dragons)
George Williams (Wigan Warriors)
Elliott Whitehead (Canberra Raiders)