The Maroons have deviated from their longstanding "pick and stick" philosophy, axing veterans Matt Scott and Darius Boyd from the side to play NSW at the MCG in nine days.

There was no room for 30-year-old Boyd — nor Brisbane winger Corey Oates — as coach Kevin Walters opted for a back three of Billy Slater, Dane Gagai and Valentine Holmes.

Walters also preferred youth in the forwards. He selected Jarrod Wallace and Dylan Napa as his starting front-rowers, while Gold Coast star Jai Arrow and Cowboys big man Coen Hess will come off the bench.

Greg Inglis was named as captain.


Queensland team: 1. Billy Slater 2. Valentine Holmes 3. Greg Inglis (capt) 4. Will Chambers 5. Dane Gagai 6. Cameron Munster 7. Ben Hunt 8. Jarrod Wallace 9. Andrew McCullough 10. Dylan Napa 11. Gavin Cooper 12. Felise Kaufusi 13. Josh McGuire Interchange: 14. Michael Morgan 15. Josh Papalii 16. Coen Hess 17. Jai Arrow