The Warriors will start an NRL campaign at Mount Smart Stadium for the first time in eight years after today being handed back-to-back season-opening home games in 2017.

In other key features of the just-released draw, five of the club's first six matches will be played on home soil while the Warriors have landed five Friday night games in three different New Zealand venues plus one in Australia.

The club's 23rd season opens against the Newcastle Knights at Mount Smart Stadium on Sunday, March 5 at 4pm followed by a blockbuster against the Melbourne Storm in the first of four Friday night home games on March 10 at 8pm.

The Warriors' last season-opening home game at Mount Smart Stadium was a 26-18 win over Parramatta in 2009. Since then they have had 'home' starts just twice but those two matches in 2011 and 2012 were both played at Eden Park.


"It has been too long since we started our season at our home ground so we couldn't be more excited knowing we'll be at Mount Smart Stadium for the first two rounds," said Warriors managing director Jim Doyle.

"That's fantastic for the team, our members and other supporters after being forced to open our campaigns away over the last four seasons including back-to-back games on the road the last two years.

"Having five of our first six games in New Zealand is a big help and introducing an earlier kick-off for the first Friday night game (8pm) also works in our favour.

"Now Friday night football becomes a big part of our game day experience."

Friday night home games have been scarce for the Warriors; their last experience was against the Bulldogs in July, 2011.

In 2017 the Warriors have Friday night home games at Mount Smart Stadium against the Storm on March 10, the Canterbury Bulldogs on June 23 and the Penrith Panthers on July 14.

The Warriors are also taking a home game to Hamilton for the first time, They'll face the St George Illawarra Dragons on Friday, May 19 at 8pm.

The fifth Friday night match in New Zealand is an 'away' game against the Bulldogs on March 17, the first-ever NRL match to be played at Dunedin's Forsyth Barr Stadium. They also play the Eels in Sydney on a Friday night.

"It's a positive for us being able to have some Friday night games," said Warriors head coach Stephen Kearney.

"It's also certainly helpful playing five of our first six games in New Zealand. It's always a positive being on home soil and playing in front of our members, families and fans."

The Warriors don't venture outside New Zealand until the fourth round when they take on the Dragons on March 26.

Today's draw release provides dates, kick-off times and venues for each of the first 20 rounds with details for the last six rounds being revealed later in the season.

Of the Warriors' first nine confirmed home games, four are on Friday nights, one on Saturday night (the Brisbane Broncos on May 27) and four on Sundays (all before the end of April); all 4.00pm kick-offs, they're against the Knights (March 5), the Titans (April 2), the Eels (April 9) and the Roosters (April 30).

The Warriors play home and away games against the Knights, Storm, Bulldogs, Dragons, Titans, Eels, Raiders, Panthers and Sea Eagles (the away match against Manly is again in Perth but Penrith won't be returning to Christchurch).

The clubs they face once are the Roosters, premiership-winning Cronulla Sharks and the Broncos at Mount Smart Stadium and the Rabbitohs, Cowboys and Wests Tigers away.

2017 Draw: (all times are local)

1 Sun March 5, 4.00pm | Knights, Mount Smart Stadium, Auckland
2 Fri March 10, 8.00pm | Storm, Mount Smart Stadium, Auckland
3 Fri March 17, 8.00pm | Bulldogs, Forsyth Barr Stadium, Dunedin
4 Sun March 26, 6.30pm | Dragons, UOW Jubilee Oval, Sydney
5 Sun April 2, 4.00pm | Titans, Mount Smart Stadium, Auckland
6 Sun April 9, 4.00pm | Eels, Mount Smart Stadium, Auckland
7 Sat April 15, 5.30pm | Raiders, GIO Stadium, Canberra
8 Tue April 25, 7.00pm | Storm, AAMI Park, Melbourne
9 Sun April 30, 4.00pm | Roosters, Mount Smart Stadium, Auckland
May 5-10 | Rep Round
10 Sat May 13, 3.00pm | Panthers, Pepper Stadium, Penrith
11 Fri May 19, 8.00pm | Dragons, FMG Stadium Waikato, Hamilton
12 Sat May 27, 7.30pm | Broncos, Mount Smart Stadium, Auckland
13 Fri June 2, 7.50pm | Eels, ANZ Stadium, Sydney
14 Sat June 10, 3.00pm | Titans, Cbus Super Stadium, Robina
15 June 15-18 | Bye
16 Fri June 23, 8.00pm | Bulldogs, Mount Smart Stadium, Auckland
17 Sat July 1, 3.30pm | Sea Eagles, nib Stadium, Perth
18 July 6-9 | Bye
19 Fri July 14, 8.00pm | Panthers, Mount Smart Stadium, Auckland
20 Sat July 22, 7.30pm | Cowboys, 1300SMILES Stadium, Townsville
21 Jul 27-30 | Sharks, Mount Smart Stadium, Auckland
22 August 3-6 | Knights, McDonald Jones Stadium, Newcastle
23 August 10-13 | Raiders, Mount Smart Stadium, Auckland
24 August 17-20 | Rabbitohs, ANZ Stadium, Sydney
25 August 24-27 | Sea Eagles, Mount Smart Stadium, Auckland
26 August 31-September 3 | Wests Tigers, Leichhardt Oval, Sydney

1 September 8-10 | Qualifying Semifinals
2 September 15-16 | Semifinals
3 September 22-23 | Preliminary Finals
4 October 1 | Grand Final