Otago 30 Tasman 27

Otago's unbeaten Mitre 10 Cup run continues after they downed the Tasman Makos 30-27 at Forsyth Barr Stadium.

Facing their first premiership opponent of the season, Otago shot out to an early lead thanks to converted tries from Paul Grant and Craig Millar in the first 15 minutes.

Their attack then stagnated and Tasman took advantage, capitalising on Otago's eight first half handling errors.

The boot of Marty Banks put Tasman on the board, and a try close to the line from wing Alex Nankivell helped close the gap.


Tasman applied pressure and held Otago inside their own half for a long period of time. That pressure led to a David Havili try after he pounced on a loose ball and gave his side the lead.

Although not helped by a yellow card to halfback Jonathan Ruru, Otago finally got the ball in good field position and scored from a lineout drive to reclaim the lead.

However, this lead would be short-lived. Given the opportunity to kick the ball out and take a one point lead into the sheds, Otago decided to test their luck.

Tasman were able to turn the ball over and captain Shane Christie scored after the hooter following a strong run from Marty Banks. Banks added the extras and Otago's slim lead became a six point deficit at the half.

Otago first five eighth Fletcher Smith opened the scoring in the second half, after Tasman were penalised for not rolling away close to the try line.

Otago later had the first real attacking opportunity of the second half, after a brilliant Fletcher Smith touchfinder pinned Tasman inside their own five.

Strong goal line defence from Tasman prevented a five pointer, but they were again penalised close to the line and Smith settled for three, levelling the scores at 27 with 15 to go.

Smith would be the only scorer in the second half, as another penalty capped a perfect night from the tee and put Otago in front for the first time since late in the first half.

In front is where they would stay as time expired and Otago maintained their perfect record.

Otago 30 (Paul Grant, Craig Millar, Naulia Dawai tries; Fletcher Smith 3 con, 3 pen) Tasman 27 (Alex Nankivell, David Havili, Shane Christie tries; Marty Banks 3 con, 2 pen) HT: 21-27