Danny Lee has chosen Olympic teammate Ryan Fox as his partner to represent New Zealand at the World Cup of Golf this November at Kingston Heath in Melbourne, Australia.

The pair represented New Zealand at the Olympics and will join forces again after Lee, as the top-ranked player, had the option to choose his teammate. Fox said Lee dropped some hints in Rio that he'd get the nod.

"Obviously I'm super-excited. Danny had hinted at it at the Olympics a little bit," Fox told Radio Sport.

"I'm very happy Danny picked me. Kingston Heath is a great golf course and I'm looking forward to teeing it up with all the big guns again."


Out of the Bunker Podcast Wed Aug 24

The World Cup of Golf is Nov. 24-27, one week after the European Tour season ends in Dubai.

The tournament will return to a 72-hole, stroke play, two-man team event format. The first and third days of competition will be the foursomes (alternate shot) format and the second and final days are fourball (best ball) play.

Fox said he was looking forward to playing a different format.

"Danny and I didn't get to play as a team as such at the Olympics. We were representing New Zealand and it will be cool to actually play a full team game, get to play foursomes again which I don't think I've played since I was an amateur. Four-ball, best-ball is good fun as well and hopefully that suits Danny and me really really well.

"It sounds like it's going to be huge in Melbourne. They love their golf over there and should be plenty of people out watching."

The hosts will have a strong team with Jason Day and Adam Scott confirmed. Day and Scott, both among the top 10 in the world, did not play in the Rio Games.

Masters champion Danny Willett will play for England with Lee Westwood.

The Americans will be represented by Rickie Fowler and PGA Championship winner Jimmy Walker.

Australia - Jason Day, Adam Scott
USA - Rickie Fowler, Jimmy Walker
England - Danny Willett, Lee Westwood
Scotland - Russell Knox, Duncan Stewart
Japan - Hideki Matsuyama, TBA
Spain - Rafa Cabrera Bello, TBA
Korea - Byeong Hun An, TBA
Ireland - Shane Lowry, TBA
Sweden - Alex Noren, David Lingmerth
Thailand - Thongchai Jaidee, TBA
Denmark - Soren Kjeldsen, Thorbjorn Olesen
New Zealand - Danny Lee, Ryan Fox
Italy - Francesco Molinari, TBA
Austria - Bernd Wiesberger, TBA
Belgium - Thomas Pieters, Nicolas Colsaerts
Netherlands - Joost Luiten, TBA
South Africa - Jaco Van Zyl, TBA
Venezuela - Jhonattan Vegas, Julio Vegas
Wales - Jamie Donaldson, TBA
France - Victor Dubuisson, TBA
Germany - Alex Cejka, TBA
Fiji - Vijay Singh, TBA
Portugal - Ricardo Gouveia, TBA
Canada - David Hearn, TBA
China - Wu Ashun, TBA
Paraguay - Fabrizio Zanotti, TBA
Philippines - Miguel Tabuena, TBA
Chinese Taipei C.T. Pan, TBA