Tim Southee, Ross Taylor and Mitchell McClenaghan have all missed out on selection for the upcoming ODI series against Australia due to injury.

Luke Ronchi has been selected to take over the wicket-keeping duties from BJ Watling and Tom Latham will act as a cover for returning captain Brendon McCullum, though will leave the group pending McCullum's fitness.

Southee and Taylor are expected to return for the ANZ Test series.

Black Caps coach Mike Hesson said the depth built in recent times was now serving its purpose.


"This is a pinnacle event for us and we'll look to get our best side out on the park each time we play," said Hesson.

"We've been lucky enough to use a big squad over the summer and although we're missing a few key players, we have guys who can step in and we know are up to the task.

Hesson also acknowledged the anticipation for the series amongst fans and players alike.

"The Chappell Hadlee Trophy is something we want to hold on to.

"The rivalry between these two sides is huge and it's going to be three intense games in front of some big crowds."

The opening games begins at 2pm on Wednesday at Eden Park.

BLACKCAPS ANZ ODI Squad v Australia

Brendon McCullum (c)
Corey Anderson
Trent Boult
Doug Bracewell
Grant Elliott
Martin Guptill
Matt Henry
Adam Milne
Colin Munro
Henry Nicholls
Luke Ronchi
Mitchell Santner
Kane Williamson

Tom Latham (cover)