Canterbury Bulldogs top try-scorer Curtis Rona is set to debut for the Kiwis on the end of year tour to England after he was named in the train-on squad today.

The 23-year-old Waitara product enjoyed a stand-out season on the end of the Bulldogs backline, scorching in for 23 tries in 25 games to leave him just one four-pointer short of Parramatta's Semi Radradra NRL-high of 24.

He joins Bulldogs teammate Greg Eastwood, and Cronulla Sharks pair Gerard Beale and Sosaia Feki, along with Junior Kiwis five-eighth Te Maire Martin, as the new additions to the squad, following their teams exit from the NRL finals last weekend.

Born in Tokoroa, 19-year-old Martin was a member of the national age-group side that fell narrowly to the Junior Kangaroos in May, but was recently named in the Holden Cup Team of the Year for the second year in a row.


Martin's Wests Tigers side was knocked out of the NYC playoffs last weekend and he will switch to the Penrith Panthers in 2016.

Players will be added to the squad as their commitments to NRL clubs end for the year.

Train-on camps began this week in Auckland and Sydney, with the 23-strong touring side to be announced soon after the NRL Premiership Grand Final on October 4.

The tour of England features three tests - November 1 in Hull, November 7 in London and November 14 in Wigan - with a warm-up game against Leeds Rhinos on October 23.

The NZ Kiwis train-on squad: Gerard Beale (Cronulla Sharks), Lewis Brown (Penrith Panthers), Manaia Cherrington (Wests Tigers), Greg Eastwood (Canterbury Bulldogs), Sosaia Feki (Cronulla Sharks), Kieran Foran (Manly Sea Eagles), Bryson Goodwin (South Sydney Rabbitohs), Peta Hiku (Manly Sea Eagles), Solomone Kata (NZ Warriors), Tuimoala Lolohea (NZ Warriors), Issac Luke (South Sydney Rabbitohs), Simon Mannering (NZ Warriors), Te Maire Martin (Wests Tigers), Ben Matulino (NZ Warriors), Manu Ma'u (Parramatta Eels), Sam McKendry (Penrith Panthers), Jason Nightingale (St George Dragons), Curtis Rona (Canterbury Bulldogs), Tim Simona (Wests Tigers), Martin Taupau (Wests Tigers), Elijah Taylor (Penrith Panthers), Bodene Thompson (NZ Warriors), Dean Whare (Penrith Panthers).