Dragons 24
Tigers 18

St George Illawarra have clung on to post a club record ninth straight win with a 24-18 defeat of Wests Tigers in the NRL clash at WIN Jubilee Oval.

The Dragons' five tries to three victory, which came after a late Tigers comeback, bettered the joint venture club's previous best winning streak of eight wins set in 2005.

With seven players backing up from Wednesday night's State of Origin clash, the home side led 20-6 at the break before in-form centre Mark Gasnier appeared to have scored the sealer in the 61st minute.


But an off day for goalkicker Jamie Soward, who managed just two from four, and a 75th minute try to Tigers back Tim Moltzen, brought to mind the Dragons' second half fadeout against Canterbury two weeks ago.

The gutsy second half display from the Tigers may help dispel reports of player unrest at the club after contracted stars Bryce Gibbs, Liam Fulton and Moltzen were granted permission to negotiate with other clubs.

Tigers chief executive Stephen Humphreys has admitted the move has been unsettling, while a clear-the-air meeting was reportedly held last week, days after coach Tim Sheens had not allowed the side to sing the team song following an insipid showing in downing strugglers Penrith.

Matt Cooper, Trent Merrin, Jason Nightingale, Brett Morris and Gasnier scored tries for the Dragons in front of 19,892 fans.

For the Tigers, Andrew Fifita, Matt Utai and Moltzen crossed for four-pointers with Benji Marshall kicking three from three.

The Dragons' halftime lead had come courtesy of four tries to one in the first 40 but the Tigers hit back when Utai capitalised on a long cut-out from Marshall in the 48th minute and the conversion made it 20-12.

Serial Tigers tormentor Gasnier scored his 21st try in 15 games against the club in the 61st minute to have the home side back on top.

But it was Gasnier's attempted flick pass that allowed Moltzen to capitalise on a Robbie Farah grubber and set up a tense finish, the Tigers unable to come up with the match-winning play.



(M Cooper M Gasnier T Merrin B Morris J Nightingale tries J Soward 2 goals) bt


(A Fifita T Moltzen M Utai tries B Marshall 3 goals) at WIN Jubilee Oval. Referee: Matt Cecchin, Alan Shortall. Crowd: 19,892.