Rolling Thunder returns to Vodafone Speedway Western Springs this summer but as part of an extended series around the country.

The event first came to Auckland two years ago as a way to get super saloons back for the first time in two decades.

The sprint car class ran for the coveted 'Championship Ring' awarded to both the winning driver and car owner.

Then there was the 'celebrity race' which had the likes of Emma Gilmour, Mad Mike, Greg Murphy and Sarah Walker, to name a few, participating, all good fun for everyone watching.


This summer however the series will stop at Palmerston North and Bay Park as well as Western Springs. Super saloons, sprint cars and midgets will feature at each meeting and comptitors will be fighting over $90,000 in prize money.

The Series competitors will be restricted to 20 in each class, all competing for the Rolling Thunder Series Championship. Other drivers can compete at any of the rounds just as they may ordinarily do, however the Series Trophy and overall prize pools are held for the 20 registered drivers in each class.

Driver line-ups will be announced shortly.