"Damien's time is up," declared Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern as the party caucus gathered for a photo on the steps of Parliament this morning.

Damien O'Connor, Cabinet Minister and MP for the West Coast-Tasman, was a no-show as the MPs squinted into the sun for a photo on a barmy Wellington morning.

Minister outside Cabinet and Ikaroa-Rawhiti MP Meka Whaitiri was also absent in this photo, though she eventually arrived for later photos.

Front and centre was Jacinda Ardern, flanked by Speaker Trevor Mallard and deputy leader Kelvin Davis.


As National MP Nick Smith arrived on Parliament's forecourt, Finance Minister Grant Robertson jokingly called out to him to join the Labour Party. Smith declined.

Labour has 46 MPs this parliamentary term, 14 more than the previous term.

Afterwards the 13 members of Labour's Maori caucus also posed for a photo, as did the six members of the Pacific Islands caucus.