As Labour's 17 new MPs gathered for a photo with leader Jacinda Ardern at Parliament today there was another newbie more interested in taking a nap.

Heeni Prime is just seven weeks in the world and accompanied her mum Willow-Jean Prime to Wellington today.

Prime said having a baby would certainly bring its challenges as she settled into life as a list MP based in Northland, mainly logistical.

"But I have a lot of family support around me to help me do this job. Which everybody feels is so important for Northland and our communities. I don't underestimate the challenges that it will present but I have got a lot of support to help me."


Prime stood in the Northland byelection in March 2015 when her other daughter was only a week old, and said she had learnt some lessons from that experience that would help now.

"Particularly because I want to continue breastfeeding Heeni ... that's some of the logistics around it ... and just having that time to bond with her as well."

As well as Labour's 17 new MPs, there are 11 from National, three from New Zealand First (including former Labour MP Shane Jones) and Chloe Swarbrick from the Greens.

Those numbers could change after special votes are counted - Nicola Willis from National could drop out, with Golriz Ghahraman from the Greens likely to enter Parliament.

One new face is former television host and weather presenter Tamati Coffey, who upset Maori Party co-leader Te Ururoa Flavell to win the Waiariki seat for Labour.

All the new MPs are attending an induction programme involving presentations from experienced MPs and briefings on Question Time and Select Committees, as well as instructions on how to avoid embarrassing headlines over improper expenditure or hiring of family members.

"It's exactly like first day at school, except I'm 38 and I've got a strong mandate from a lot of people to get in here and do some work."

Coffey has previously done a parliamentary tour as a member of the public.

"They don't take you to the special places though. To be able to go behind the scenes today was really awesome."

The question mark hanging over all of Parliament at the moment is who will be in Government, but both Prime and Coffey said they had plans to address issues in their areas no matter what side of the debating chamber they will sit on.

The National Party will hold its caucus tomorrow morning where retiring MPs will be presented with an engraved tray and new MPs welcomed. Party whip Jami-Lee Ross said each new MP is paired with a more experienced colleague to help them learn the parliamentary ropes.

National's new MPs at this stage include list MP Nicola Willis and electorate MPs Simeon Brown, Andrew Falloon, Harete Hipango, Matt King, Denise Lee, Chris Penk, Erica Stanford, Tim van de Malen, Hamish Walker and Lawrence Yule.

Labour's new list MPs at this stage include Kiri Allan, Ginny Anderson, Liz Craig, Willie Jackson, Anahila Kanongata'a-Suisuiki, Marja Lubeck, Jo Luxton, Kieran McAnulty, Willow-Jean Prime, Priyanca Radhakrishnan, Jamie Strange, and Jan Tinetti. Its new electorate MPs are Tamati Coffey, Paul Eagle, Greg O'Connor, Deborah Russell and Duncan Webb.

NZ First's new MPs are Shane Jones, Southland sheep farmer Mark Patterson and former newsreader Jenny Marcroft.