There are four contenders finalised to contest the Green Party co-leadership and they will start a nationwide tour to woo for votes this weekend.

Nominations have closed for the male co-leader's role and those confirmed are Kevin Hague, Gareth Hughes, James Shaw and Vernon Tava.

All four had previously announced they would stand. The vote follows Russel Norman's decision to step down from the role. Of the males, only Mr Tava is not a sitting MP. The co-leader will be voted on by members and the nominees will visit nine places across New Zealand for meetings to state their cases.

Green Party co-convenor Georgina Morrison said the party members had a strong field of candidates to choose the new leader from.


"The new Co-leader will start from a solid electoral base and will have the benefit of a full parliamentary term to establish himself in the role and take the Greens into government in 2017."

The vote will be held at the party's AGM on Saturday 30 May. Metiria Turei is the sole nomination for female co-leader so will be re-elected.