Athletics New Zealand 100km Championship, Hagley Park - 7 May 2017

Katrin Gottschalk won the national womens title after winning the race outright in 8:34:03, the fastest womens time at the championship since Wynnie Cosgroves 8:29:37 in 1999. Just the week prior the 38 year old from Auckland YMCA club won the masters 35-39 8km cross country gold medal at the World Masters Games on the Auckland Domain and last year won the New Zealand masters 35-39 road title. In 2013 she won the silver medal in the New Zealand marathon championship in Wellington. Larissa Tichon of Sydney was second in 8:54:27 and Shannon-Leigh Litt of Christchurch was third in 9:27:13, taking the silver medal in the championship.

David OSullivan of Aspiring Athletics Wanaka was the first male in 9:47:44 winning from Jamie Hawker of Port Hills 10:54:01 and Logan Austin 12:07:08.

Steve Darby of Christchurch won the associated 50km in 3:36:38 from Robert Loveridge (Chch) 3:46:10 and Geoff Gilfedder 3:55:37. Hannah Oldroyd of Christchurch won the womens 50km in the same winning time of 3:36:38 from Dee Richards 4:43:26.


Athletics Auckland Grand Prix Cross Country, A&P Showgrounds Pukekohe - 13 May 2017

Jono Jackson a week after taking third in the Rotorua Marathon was a convincing winner of the senior 8km in 27:39, nearly 40 seconds ahead of Taupos Kyle Smith. Tom Hunt was third in 29:34. Steve Rees-Jones blitzed the masters covering the 8km in 27:52, nearly two minutes faster than Nick Moore. Chris Robb was third.

Audrey Gregan, a 2013 world youth championships representative, won the womens 6km in 23:32, three seconds ahead of Ashleigh Williams with Taupos Nicole Van der Kaay third in 24:16. Fiona Love was the best of the masters in 25:13.

Joseph Clark won the U/20, Murdoch McIntyre the U/18, Gina Butler the U/20 women and Natalya Carter the U/18 women.


Hawkes Bay International Marathon, Napier to Hastings - 13 May 2017

Sam Wreford led a lonely path to victory in the second Hawkes Bay event winning by a huge 19 minutes in 2:27:08. William OConnor was second in a PB 2:45:52 and Luke Hurring third in 2:48:36.

"The idea today was a solid tempo time trial and that was the goal today, we will target something a bit faster perhaps in July," said Wreford

"It was slippery in places, at times it was more cross country but that suited my background and I loved it. I am looking at maybe the Gold Coast Marathon and will look to run fast there, we will see how the next few weeks go.

The 34 year old from Timaru adds this win to wins in the Lydiard, Auckland, Rotorua, Christchurch, Dunedin and Southland marathons.

Marisa Ruhter improved on her third place from last year to come home first in 3:04:05.

"The headwind picked up in the second half of the race and I think the second half today would have been slower for everyone, I was hoping for a better time but the conditions dictated otherwise today," she said.

Michelle Law was a distant second in 3:16:48 with Wing Yu third in 3:17:33.

Chris Sanson followed up his second in last weeks Rotorua Marathon with a narrow win over Daniel Wallis in the half marathon in 1:12:14. Wallis was 15 seconds in arrears with Ryan McAlister third in 1:14:50.

"It was really good out there, that was a fast finish, a sprint with 200m to go to get the job done. I am normally a front runner and dont like to have company and I tried to get away but he held strong and I thought man, I might be second today, he is such a good runner. But I waited for the sprint and got him, that was cool," said Sanson.

Just as impressive was the womens winner, with Laura Nagel taking almost five minutes off the record coming home in 1:21:09 in her first attempt at the distance.

"That was good, it was kind of like cross country season with a bit of mud near the start and with a bit of a head wind most of the way, I am happy with how that went. Today was just about coming away with the win, I have been away in the Philippines for a couple of weeks and didnt do much running and have only been back training for a couple of weeks so it was really a case of seeing how it went," said Nagel.

Hillory Davis was second in a PB 1:25:44 and Grace Ritchie third in a PB 1:26:35.


The Great Cranleigh Kauri Run - 13 May 2017

32km; Chris Morrissey 2:41:46, Dennis de Monchy 2:52:02. Cecilia Flori 3:11:50, Rosie Watson 3:20:17. 23km; Andrew Marshall 2:12:01, Ben Leaker 2:23:28. Bridget Ray 2:20:33, Maureen Stachowiicz 2:24:28. 13km; Scott Illingworth 52:59, Rodney Poulgrain 1:01:24. Emerson Deverell 52:39, Ashleigh Deverell 1:08:04. Walk; Claire Hicks 2:00:50.


Saint Clair Vineyard Half Marathon - 13 May 2017

Leroy De Beer 1:20:10, Oli Vincent 1:21:08, David Vernon 1:22:10. Megan Craig 1:24:00, Paula Canning 1:26:37.


Athletics Canterbury Awards, Cashmere Club - 12 May 2017

Senior athlete of the year: Tom Walsh, junior: William Stedman. Sprinter: Maia Broughton. Middle distance: Angie Petty and William Stedman. Distance: Nick Moulai. Hurdler: Anna Percy. Thrower: Tom Walsh. Jumper: Kelsey Berryman. Para-Athlete: William Stedman. Combined events: Max Attwell. Walker: Rozie Robinson. Cross country: Daniel Balchin. Road: Oska Baynes. Coach: Dale Stevenson. Official: Craig Brown. Merit award: Ann Henderson and Dave Bates.


Occidental Invitational, Eagle Rock CA, 6 May: Courtney Quirin 5000m 17:17.73 (7RB) (31).

Nebraska Invitational, Lincoln NE, 6 May: Jordan Rackham de Spong 1500m 3:47.39 PB (1).

American East Championships, Durham NC, 7 May: Holly Manning 800m 2:11.63 (4). Cameron Avery 5000m 14:40.92 PB (5).

Southeast Conference Championships, Colombia SC, 12 May: Rebekah Greene 1500m 4:30.15 (3H3). 13 May: Rebekah Greene 1500m 4:28.85 (10).


VRWC, Middle Park Melbourne, 29 April: Quentin Rew 12km RW 53:56 (1).

- This story has been automatically published using a media release from Athletics New Zealand