Covers sport across NZME's print, digital and radio brands.

No-ball call leaves NZ feeling robbed

Doug Bracewell reacts after bowling Adam Voges of Australia off a no-ball. Photo / Getty Images
Doug Bracewell reacts after bowling Adam Voges of Australia off a no-ball. Photo / Getty Images

A dubious no-ball call from umpire Richard Illingworth robbed New Zealand of a fourth wicket before stumps on the opening day of the first cricket test against Australia.

Adam Voges was unbeaten on seven after getting bowled by a Doug Bracewell 'no-ball' in the last over.

Illingworth threw his arm out to signal the bowler had overstepped the popping crease.

The laws state some part of a bowler's foot must land behind the line. Replays showed the delivery looked legitimate, yet Illingworth opted not to double check.

More controversy in the cricket! This will get you debating !!!! BLACKCAPS

Posted by Veitchy on Sport on Thursday, February 11, 2016

Australia finished on 147 for three in response to New Zealand's 183.

Bracewell produced a perfect orthodox pace delivery. He angled the ball in, Voges shouldered arms, and it hit the top of off stump.

The New Zealanders opted not to use a review because the assumption is the umpire will err on the side of caution when making no-ball calls.

Bracewell has had wickets correctly rubbed out by no-balls in the past, but this decision seemed unjust.

It highlighted a difficult summer for umpires making incorrect calls. The biggest clanger came on the second day of the Adelaide pink ball test. Television umpire Nigel Llong, in relation to a hotspot mark from a catch off Nathan Lyon's bat, delivered the immortal line: "There's a mark on a bat, but it could come from anywhere."

The incident follows Monday's controversy in the Chappell-Hadlee Trophy decider in Hamilton when a big screen replay of Mitchell Marsh hitting a caught-and-bowled to Matt Henry, via the toe of his boot, led to a dismissal.

No replay of the Bracewell delivery was shown to the Basin Reserve crowd.

"We were just hoping it didn't come up on the big screen too quickly," Australian pace bowler Josh Hazlewood quipped in relation to the Marsh catch.

"Once the arm is thrown out, there's not much you can do about it. Obviously we're disappointed," added New Zealand spinner Mark Craig.



SCOREBOARD

WAGONWHEEL

MANHATTAN

- NZ Herald

Get the news delivered straight to your inbox

Receive the day’s news, sport and entertainment in our daily email newsletter

SIGN UP NOW
Stats provided by

© Copyright 2017, NZME. Publishing Limited

Assembled by: (static) on production bpcf04 at 25 Apr 2017 13:49:00 Processing Time: 1067ms