Cricket: Canada wins toss, Black Caps bat first

Canada have won the toss and elected to field first against New Zealand in their group A World Cup cricket match at Mumbai today.

New Zealand made two changes to their side that beat Pakistan on Tuesday with Jesse Ryder fit again after recovering from a stomach bug to replace Jamie How and Kane Williamson comes in for injured captain Daniel Vettori.

The Black Caps have six points so far from three wins and another win will guarantee them a quarterfinal spot.

Canada made two changes, drafting in veteran seamer Khurram Chohan and giving 19-year-old batsman Hiral Patel his World Cup debut. Parth Desai and Tyson Gordon were dropped from the starting lineup.

New Zealand: Martin Guptill, Brendon McCullum, Jesse Ryder, Ross Taylor (captain), Kane Williamson, Scott Styris, James Franklin, Nathan McCullum, Jacob Oram, Kyle Mills, Tim Southee.

Canada: Ruvindu Gunasekera, Zubin Surkari, Ashish Bagai (captain), Jimmy Hansra, Rizwan Cheema, John Davison, Hiral Patel, Harvir Baidwan, Khurram Chohan, Henry Osinde, Balaji Rao.


Get the news delivered straight to your inbox

Receive the day’s news, sport and entertainment in our daily email newsletter


© Copyright 2017, NZME. Publishing Limited

Assembled by: (static) on production bpcf05 at 21 Jan 2017 07:15:31 Processing Time: 413ms