Donald Trump's nomination as Time person of the year has proved as divisive as his Presidential campaign, with many taking to social media to share their reaction.

On Twitter, some were quick to suggest the President Elect followed in the company of Hitler, Stalin and Putin who had also received the iconic title.

LISTEN: Time Magazine's Editor at Large Karl Vick explains the choice to Rachel Smalley on Newstalk ZB

Others lambasted them for overreacting and pointed out the Pope and Angela Merkel had also been named the winner before.


The magazine's annual award names the person who has had the "greatest influence, for better or worse, on the events of the year".

German Chancellor Angela Merkel, The Ebola Fighters, The Pope, President Obama, Mark Zuckerberg, Former President George W Bush, and Julian Assange have also won the title before.