The last round of the 2012 V8 Supercars championship, won by Will Davison, was also the end of an era. The Sydney 500 was the end of the Ford v Holden 20-year stoush, and the cars, as we know them. Next year it's all change with the introduction of the Car Of The Future and new manufacturers.

The main difference with allowing other car marques to enter the championship, is that the rules are pretty strict about what you can enter with. All the chassis are the same and most of the running gear and plumbing is strictly controlled.

The series will be without one of the rising stars of the category, New Zealander Shane van Gisbergen. The 23-year-old announced recently he's leaving the sport and heading home for a bit of down time and has been released from his Stone Brothers Racing contract.

"It was good to finally let everyone know [leaving the sport] and get on with it and get the last race done," said van Gisbergen.


Jamie Whincup confirmed his fourth V8 Supercars championship by coming home in a solid fifth on Saturday, which was won by his teammate Craig Lowndes. Van Gisbergen's last hurrah came unstuck after he was forced into the wall on lap one damaging his steering. As he was trying to make it back to the pits his steering broke completely and the medical safety car collected him.

The other Kiwis in the field, Greg Murphy and Fabian Coulthard also failed to finish.

Yesterday's race was a repeat for van Gisbergen who again didn't make it around the circuit after a clutch failure. Murphy didn't much better getting fired into the wall five laps later.

Davison took the chequered flag from Lowndes and James Courtney.

Young Kiwi Scott McLaughlin backed up his V8 SuperTourers championship win a week ago by taking out the Australian V8 Development series. The 19-year-old was also handed the keys to the Gary Rogers Motorsport main game car replacing the ill Alexandre Premat.

"This is awesome. One of the best weekends ever," said McLaughlin.

McLaughlin came home 17th on debut.