Super City Mayor-elect Len Brown today unveiled the makeup of his new Auckland Council, with key roles going to councillors from across the political spectrum.

"This announcement recognises the community's desire to have an inclusive council that draws on strengths of people from right around the region," said Mr Brown this afternoon.

"I want the new Auckland Council to be based on values of fairness, inclusion, prudence and getting things done. Councillors appointed to key leadership roles in the Council share these values with me."

The powerful role of chairing the Strategy and Finance Committee has gone to former Rodney mayor and ex-Act MP Penny Webster, who sits to the right of Mr Brown politically.

Other right-leaning appointments are young Howick councillor Jami-Lee Ross to the Tenders and Procurement Panel and Cameron Brewer to the District Plan and Urban Design Forum of the Regional Development and Operations Committee.

Those closer to Mr Brown's own point on the political spectrum also nabbed some key roles, including Mike Lee to the chair of the Transport Committee, Richard Northey to the chair of the Accountability and Performance Committee and Ann Hartley to the Regional Development and Operations Committee.

The Mayor will also chair two key committees himself - the Auckland Future Vision Committee and CCO Strategy and Appointments Sub-Committee.

Mr Brown today also made the unexpected move of appointing an Auckland Ambassador - Olympic hero Sir John Walker. According to a press release from the new council, "this role will involve Sir John championing the well-being of Auckland through his work on specified projects. In the first instance, this will involve recreation and youth issues and working with the Mayor on issues related to the Rugby World Cup."

Structure and appointments:
Committees of the Whole

Strategy & Finance Committee - Penny Webster

Accountability & Performance Committee - Richard Northey
- CCO Strategy and Appointments Sub-Committee - His Worship the Mayor
- CEO Review Sub-Committee - His Worship the Mayor
- Tenders & Procurement Panel - Jami-Lee Ross

Regional Development & Operations Committee - Ann Hartley
- Social & Community Forum - Cathy Casey
- Culture, Arts & Events Forum - Alf Filipaina
- Economic Forum - Arthur Anae
- Community Safety Forum - George Wood
- Environment & Sustainability Forum - Wayne Walker
- Parks & Heritage Forum - Sandra Coney
- District Plan & Urban Design Forum - Cameron Brewer

Auckland Future Vision Committee - His Worship the Mayor / Deputy Mayor
- Transport Committee - Mike Lee

Standing Committees

- Hearings Committee - Noelene Rafills
- Regulatory & Bylaws Committee - Des Morrison
- Audit & Risk Committee - Sharon Stewart
- Civil Defence & Emergency Management Group - Michael Goudie

Advisory Panels

- Maori Statutory Board - Alf Filipaina
- Pacific Peoples Advisory Panel - Arthur Anae
- Ethnic Advisory Panel - Mike Lee
- Business Advisory Panel - Cameron Brewer
- Rural Advisory Panel - Des Morrison
- Youth Advisory Panel - Michael Goudie
- Social Policy Forum - Calum Penrose

- NZ Herald staff