There are four Australians on the panel. Three New Ze' />

Sixteen referees will control games at the cup, with hosts Australia having the lion's share.

There are four Australians on the panel. Three New Zealanders - Paddy O'Brien, Steve Walsh and Paul Honiss - two come from each of England, Ireland and South Africa while Argentina, France and Wales have one appointment.

Honiss will control Friday night's opening game between Australia and Argentina in Sydney, repeating his compatriot O'Brien's appointment as referee of the 1999 opening game between Wales and Argentina.

A fourth New Zealand referee, Kelvin Deaker, was named as a touch judge and television match official, while Taranaki's Stuart Beissel, a member of the national referee selection panel, will be an assessor.

World Cup referees:

Australia: Andrew Cole, Stuart Dickinson, Peter Marshall, Scott Young.

New Zealand: Paul Honiss, Steve Walsh, Paddy O'Brien.

England: Tony Spreadbury, Chris White.

Ireland: David McHugh, Alain Rolland

South Africa: Andre Watson, Jonathan Kaplan

Argentina: Pablo Deluca

Wales: Nigel Williams

France: Joel Jutge

Touch judges and television match officials:

Donal Courtney (Ireland), Giulio de Santis (Italy), Kelvin Deaker (New Zealand), Joel Dume (France), Mark Lawrence (South Africa), Alan Lewis (Ireland), Iain Ramage (Scotland), Nigel Whitehouse (Wales).

Full World Cup coverage