Hurricanes head coach John Plumtree has made just two changes to the starting XV to face the Jaguares on Friday night.

The experienced James Marshall will start at first five-eighth in the absence of Beauden Barrett who is on the second of his All Black rest weeks, while Du'Plessis Kirifi will start at openside flanker.

Marshall, who will make his 49th appearance for the Hurricanes, has impressed off the bench after returning from the shoulder injury he suffered in round one.

Kirifi's inclusion sees Ardie Savea move to No 8 with Reed Prinsep unavailable after he suffered a bad cut to his face in the Hurricanes' 22-12 win over the Blues last week.


There are four changes to the bench from last week with Heiden Bedwell-Curtis providing loose forward cover, Chris Eves comes in for an injured Fraser Armstrong while Fletcher Smith and Salesi Rayasi come into the match day squad.

Beauden Barrett will sit out for his second All Black rest week. Photo / Photosport
Beauden Barrett will sit out for his second All Black rest week. Photo / Photosport

Plumtree was impressed with the overall work of the whole squad at Eden Park and the impact they got off the bench against a really physical Blues side.

"We are expecting the same sort of physical challenge from the Jaguares who showed last year and last week against the Highlanders that they can perform really well in New Zealand," he said.

"They also play a really entertaining style of rugby and are prepared to use the ball from anyone on the field so our defence is going to have to be really good again this week.

"We really want to end this block of five games on a high in front of our fans and head into the bye week in good shape."

The Hurricanes will be aiming for their sixth-straight Super Rugby victory.

The Hurricanes squad to face the Jaguares at Westpac Stadium on Friday 7.35pm:

15 Jordie Barrett
14 Wes Goosen
13 Matt Proctor
12 Ngani Laumape
11 Ben Lam
10 James Marshall
9 TJ Perenara (c)
8 Ardie Savea
7 Du'Plessis Kirifi
6 Vaea Fifita
5 Isaia Walker-Leawere
4 James Blackwell
3 Jeff To'omaga-Allen
2 Asafo Aumua
1 Toby Smith



16 Ricky Riccitelli
17 Chris Eves
18 Ross Geldenhuys
19 Kane Le'aupepe
20 Heiden Bedwell-Curtis
21 Finlay Christie
22 Fletcher Smith
23 Salesi Rayasi