After defending his title as New Zealand's Sportsman of the Year at the Halberg Awards, Kiwi shot put star Tom Walsh has revealed his vote would have gone elsewhere.

Walsh won the award for the second year running, as well as collecting the supreme award for Sportsperson of the Year, after victories at the World Indoor Championship, Commonwealth Games and Diamond League events.

Speaking to the Radio Sport Breakfast, Walsh said if he had a vote, it would have gone to Indycar champion Scott Dixon.

"I think I would have probably given him the Sportsman of the Year," Walsh said. "I think he had a good shot, but to be honest I think they nailed probably all of (the awards).


"There were certainly other ones that were close, like Sports Team of the Year - that was a bloody tough one to choose between."

The 26-year-old edged out Dixon, Olympic bronze medal-winning freeskier Nico Porteous and Supercars champion Scott McLaughlin to claim the Sportsman of the Year award.

Champion canoer Lisa Carrington claimed a hat-trick in the Sportswoman of the Year award, taking out the honour for her third year running.

Carrington's season, which saw her claim a gold and three silver medals at the Canoe Sprint World Championships, saw her beat out rival nominees squash player Joelle King, equestrian Jonelle Price and Olympic bronze medal-winning and X-Games champion snowboarder Zoi Sadowski-Synnott.

The full list of winners and finalists for the 56th Halberg Awards:

Halberg Award winner:

Tom Walsh (athletics)

Finalists: Lisa Carrington (canoe racing), Adam Hall (Para alpine skiing), Black Ferns Sevens (rugby union).

New Zealand Sportswoman of the Year winner: Lisa Carrington (canoe racing)

Finalists: Joelle King (squash), Jonelle Price (equestrian), Zoi Sadowski-Synnott (snowboarding).

Sportsman of the Year winner: Tom Walsh (athletics)

Finalists: Nico Porteous (freeskiing), Scott Dixon (motorsport), Scott McLaughlin (motorsport).

Para Athlete/Team of the Year winner: Adam Hall (Para alpine skiing)

Finalists: Corey Peters (Para alpine skiing), Scott Martlew (Para canoe racing), Sophie Pascoe (Para swimming).

Team of the Year winner: Black Ferns Sevens (rugby union)

Finalists: All Blacks Sevens (rugby union), NZ Football Under 17 Women (football), NZ Women's Kayaking Team (canoe racing), Vantage Black Sticks Women (hockey).

Buddle Findlay Coach of the Year winner: Gordon Walker (canoe racing)

Finalists: Allan Bunting (rugby union), Clark Laidlaw (rugby union), Joe Schmidt (rugby union), Leon Birnie (football).

Emerging Talent winner: Maddison-Lee Wesche (athletics)

Finalists: Amelia Kerr (cricket), Anna Leat (football), Josh Armit (yachting), Lewis Clareburt (swimming).

New Zealand's Favourite Sporting Moment winner: Anna Leat (football)

Finalists: Nico Porteous and Zoi Sadowski-Synnott (snowsports), David Liti (weightlifting), Kelly Brazier (rugby union), Black Sticks Women (hockey), Amelia Kerr (cricket), Roger Tuivasa-Sheck (Warriors rugby league), Auckland Rugby (rugby union), Black Caps (cricket), Anna Leat (football).

Sport New Zealand Leadership Award winner: Dr Farah Palmer (rugby union)

Hall of Fame inductee: Beatrice Faumuinā (athletics)

Lifetime Achievement Award winner: Barry Hunt (athletics)