Mahe Drysdale has been named in the New Zealand rowing team for the September 9-16 world championships in Bulgaria.

The double Olympic single sculls champion has earned a spot in the quad, taking the seat of Jordan Parry.

Parry forms part of a reserve double sculls crew with Giacomo Thomas.

Robbie Manson will race the single after winning the race-off against Drysdale at the Lucerne World Cup last month.


Drysdale last raced a crew boat for New Zealand at the Athens Olympics, when he finished fifth in the coxless four.

The 2018 team consists of 49 athletes (44 in elite crews and five reserves). A men's coxless four of Angus MacFarlane, Thomas Russel, Tom Mackintosh and Matt MacDonald was added to the previous squad from the last two World Cups.

MacFarlane took silver as part of a coxed four at the under-23 world championships.

Russel, Mackintosh and MacDonald were part of a coxless four that earned bronze.

A shoulder injury has removed Anthony Allen from the eight with Joe Wright relegated to the reserve pair. James Lassche, who competed at the World Cups in the lightweight single scull, and Martyn O'Leary join the crew.

The other crews remain unchanged.


Single sculls

Robbie Manson

Noel Donaldson (coach)

Coxless pair
Tom Murray
Michael Brake
Noel Donaldson (coach)

Double sculls
Chris Harris
John Storey
Calvin Ferguson (coach)

Lightweight double sculls
Ben van Dalen
Matthew Dunham
Calvin Ferguson (coach)

Quadruple sculls
Lewis Hollows
Cameron Crampton
Mahe Drysdale
Nathan Flannery
Mike Rodger (coach)

Coxless four
Thomas Russel
Tom Mackintosh
Matt MacDonald
Angus McFarlane
Tom Stannard (coach)

Stephen Jones
James Lassche
Isaac Grainger
Shaun Kirkham
Cameron Webster
Martyn O'Leary
Brook Robertson
Phillip Wilson
Caleb Shepherd (cox)
Gary Roberts (coach)

Reserve double sculls
Jordan Parry
Giacomo Thomas
Mike Rodger (coach)

Reserve coxless pair
Ben Taylor
Joe Wright
Noel Donaldson (coach)


Single scull

Hannah Osborne

James Coote (coach)

Coxless pair
Kerri Gowler
Grace Prendergast
Gary Hay (coach)

Double scull
Olivia Loe
Brooke Donoghue
James Coote (coach)

Lightweight double sculls
Jackie Kiddle
Zoe McBride
Gary Hay (coach)

Coxless four
Ellie Jeurissen
Georgia Perry
Phoebe Spoors
Ruby Tew
Mark Stallard (coach)

Kelsey Bevan
Kelsi Walters
Emma Dyke
Beth Ross
Jackie Gowler
Lucy Spoors
Kelsi Parker
Ella Greenslade
Sam Bosworth (cox)
Dan Kelly (coach)

Reserve single sculls
Kirstyn Goodger
James Coote (coach)