Blues coach Tana Umaga has asked his team to regain pride and respect when they play the Hurricanes on Saturday, when Jerome Kaino will become the second most capped Blues player.

Kaino, who heads to France after the season, will play his 138th game for the Blues on Saturday. He passes prop Tony Woodcock, and will sit second on the all-time Blues list behind hooker Keven Mealamu (164).

The Blues have won only four matches this season, and won only their first match at home when they beat the Reds at Eden Park last weekend.

The Blues welcome back their two leaders, captain Augustine Pulu, who will start, and stand-in captain James Parsons, who will come off the reserves bench.


Pulu is the only change to the starting line-up, while Akira Ioane, who this week re-committed to the franchise, is the only Blues player to have started in every game this year.

Umaga said Kaino will again be a key motivating factor for his side.

"Jerome means a lot to this team and achieving the milestone is great for him," Umaga said. "The team wants to send him on his way in the best way we can and that is with a performance. And if we get a good performance, the results will come.

"We get valuable leadership back in the squad with Augustine and James, which is important in derby games against the likes of the Hurricanes. That said, both Sam Nock and Matt Moulds performed well last week.

"Our attitude around the breakdown was a key for us last week against the Reds, which created some front-foot ball for our backs. Our forwards really dug-in. There are some work-ons around set piece as there always is, but we need that same attitude on attack and defence again.

"I am sure the Hurricanes will be looking at ways to rectify their situation after three losses in a row, but we have nothing to lose. We will go down there and throw everything at them, get some pride and respect back and also make sure we send our high Chief away on a good note."

The Blues team to play the Hurricanes at Westpac Stadium on Saturday, kick-off 7.35pm is:
15. Matt Duffie, 14. Melani Nanai, 13. Michael Collins, 12. Rieko Ioane, 11. Caleb Clarke, 10. Stephen Perofeta, 9. Augustine Pulu ©; 8. Akira Ioane, 7. Blake Gibson, 6. Jerome Kaino, 5. Matiaha Martin, 4. Gerard Cowley-Tuioti, 3. Ofa Tuungafasi, 2. Matt Moulds, 1. Alex Hodgman.

Reserves: 16. James Parsons, 17. Pauliasi Manu, 18. Sione Mafileo, 19. Ben Nee-Nee, 20. Murphy Taramai, 21. Sam Nock, 22. Bryn Gatland, 23. TJ Faiane.