Christchurch driver Marcus Armstrong has become the first Kiwi since dual 24 Hours of Le Mans champ Earl Bamber to win the Lady Wigram Trophy, since it was adopted by the Castrol Toyota Racing Series.

The win was Armstrong's second of the weekend, and helped affirm his lead of the championship standings. It rounded out a weekend of contrasts when compared to Armstrong's debut in the series 12 months ago.

"We've already learned from one mistake from last year, the next is to just be consistent," said Armstrong.

Read more
Marcus Armstrong wins Lady Wigram Trophy in the Toyota Racing Series
Marcus Armstrong powers to Toyota Racing Series race two win
Rookie Harker pleased with debut


The teenager got off to the best start during last year's Christchurch-based series opener, only to crash out during the Lady Wigram Trophy feature race. But after a year racing in Europe's Formula 4 scene, Armstrong was untouchable.

"In terms of driving, [I haven't changed] that much I don't think because I was quick last year. Just in terms of putting everything together is what we've improved on.

"We don't have to win every race. Today was a bad example of that, but we can take the seconds, thirds, and fourths if we want to and keep the eyes on the championship and not just individual races.

"It's the first of five rounds, so we can't linger on the thought of winning dominantly here because we have to immediately go to the next race."

The historic Lady Wigram Trophy is plastered with some of the sport's most incredible names, including the likes of Jim Clark, Jackie Stewart, Jack Brabham, and a host of New Zealanders. Amongst them is 2006 winner Matt Hamilton.

"[Winning the trophy] is cool, but more because my coach Matt Hamilton won this race a few years ago. Now, I get to win the trophy as well."

The next round of the Castrol Toyota Racing Series takes place next weekend at Invercargill's Teretonga Park; round two of the five-round series.