NZME cleaned up the Sport New Zealand Sir Terry McLean National Sports Journalism Awards, winning most of the major categories including the coveted Sports Journalist of the Year in Auckland tonight.

New Zealand Herald rugby writer Liam Napier claimed the category award for Sports News Reporting (for print and online) and was then named Sports Journalist of the Year, holding off competition from television reporter Michelle Pickles and veteran radio commentator Peter Montgomery.

Napier impressed the judges with his "fearless reporting, tight execution and, importantly, the right dash of context and sensitivity".

NZ Herald sports editor at large Dylan Cleaver won the Sports Column/Opinion of the Year across all platforms, and Best Community sport/Recreational/Adventure reporting categories.


Montgomery claimed the Sports Broadcasting Radio award for his America's Cup coverage on Newstalk ZB and Radio Sport, while Martin Tasker and Peter Lester, regular contributors to NZME during the regatta in Bermuda, took out the new Multi-media Sports Reporting category.

The Sir John Wells Sport New Zealand Journalism Scholarships were awarded to Radio Sport's Alex Chapman and Kirstie Stanway of Newshub.

The scholarship provides two young journalists the opportunity to spend time in Wellington and Auckland with key sports leaders and organisations to gain a wider understanding of sports governance in New Zealand.

Radio Sport commentator Bryan Waddle was honoured with the Sport New Zealand Lifetime Achievement Award.

Seasoned NZ Herald journalist David Leggat and Suzanne McFadden were made Life Members of the Association.

The NZ Herald DJ Cameron Young Journalist Award was won by Ruth Dacey of the Rotorua Daily Post. The judges said Dacey was a stand out winner for a portfolio which showed she always looked for the possibilities in a story, in an event and in an interview.

Her coverage of body builder Darryn Onekawa's battle with depression showed the persistence and empathy of a seasoned journalist.

Lindsay Kerr won the Garry Frew Memorial Trophy – Outstanding Contribution to Provincial Sports Journalism.


For more than 40 years, Kerr has been a stalwart of local sport in Canterbury, not just as an administrator, but has a coach, manager, umpire, journalist and author.

The winners:
Sports News Reporting (Print and online)
Liam Napier (NZME/NZ Herald)

Sports Broadcasting (Radio)
Peter Montgomery (NZME/Newstalk ZB/Radio Sport)

Sports Reporting (Television)
Michelle Pickles (TV3 Newshub)

Multi-media Sports Reporting
Martin Tasker and Peter Lester (Freelance)

Sports Feature (Television)
Matt Beale (Sky Sport)

Sports Feature Writing
Mark Reason (Fairfax)

Sports Column/Opinion (All media)
Dylan Cleaver (NZME/NZ Herald)

Best Community sport/Recreational/Adventure reporting
Dylan Cleaver (NZME/NZ Herald)

New Zealand Herald DJ Cameron Young Journalist Award
Ruth Dacey (Rotorua Daily Post)

Best Provincial/Community Journalist
Logan Savory (Southland Times)

Sports Photography (Portfolio)
John Cowpland (Alphapix)

Community Sports/Recreational/Adventure Photography (Portfolio)
Chris Symes (Media Images)

NZSJA Award for Best Single Story
Abby Wilson (TVNZ)

NZSJA Award for Best Single Photograph
Robyn Edie (Southland Times)

Sir John Wells Sport New Zealand Journalism Scholarships
Alex Chapman (NZME/Radio Sport) and Kirstie Stanway (Newshub)

Sport NZ Lifetime Achievement Award
Bryan Waddle (NZME/Radio Sport/Newstalk ZB)

Sports Journalist of the Year
Liam Napier (NZME/NZ Herald)

Garry Frew Memorial Trophy
Lindsay Kerr