New Zealand Road Relay Championships - 30 September 2017

Wellington Scottish made it three titles in a row in the senior mens relay at the New Zealand Road Relay Championships in Rotorua on Saturday, while North Harbour Bays women made it two in a row. It was a dominant display by the Scottish team, with Olympic 1500m rep Hamish Carson grabbing the lead on the first leg of seven, cutting out the 8.5km in 26:52, 46 seconds ahead of Aaron Pulford running for Athletics Tauranga. The next six runners for Scottish maintained the lead to the finish. Nick Horspool anchored the team home in 3:21:23, winning by over three minutes from the Pakuranga Club with Wellington Harrier Athletic in third place, another four minutes back. Horspool covered the final 10.3km in 32:32.

It was the Scottish clubs eighth senior mens title since they won their first in 1999. Carson, Daniel Jones and Horspool had the fastest lap times for Scottish.

North Harbour Bays repeated their win from last year in the womens race capturing their ninth senior title. Such was their dominance, that six of the seven runners had the fastest laps for the grade.

Bays won from the Hamilton City Hawks team by a big margin while University of Canterbury faded at the end to finish third.

Papanui Toc-H junior mens team from Christchurch were another team to retain their title, with strong runs from Mitchell Small and Goiteom Gebremedihin. North Harbour Bays and Auckland City Athletics filled the minor placings.

Hamilton City Hawks were clear winners in the junior womens relay with fastest lap times coming from Aimee Ferguson, Grace Ritchie, Samantha Corbett and Emerson Deverell. Wellington Harrier Athletics finished eight minutes back and Auckland city Athletics were third.

Hawks last won the junior womens title in 2000, and the victory was a fitting result for manager Don Willoughby who guided the team 17 years earlier.

The Masters Men 40+ title went to Wellington Scottish, with rivals Wellington Harrier Athletic filling second place and New Brighton Olympic finishing third. Good runs for Scottish came from Simon Keller, Stephen Day and Andrew Wharton.

Wellington Harrier Athletic (M50+ for the third year in a row) and Athletics Nelson (M60+) won their masters grade titles.

Hamilton City Hawks were victorious in the master womens race, from Wellington Harrier Athletic and Olympic Harriers. Hawks runners Marion Millward and Maureen Leonard were the fastest on their laps. Wesley Harriers from Auckland were the Mens B grade winners and Leith Harriers from Dunedin took out the C grade title.

Trentham United won the walking section and the Social grade went to Takapuna.

Hamilton City Hawks took out the top club thanks in large to their outstanding showing with the womens relays, winning the junior and masters races and finishing second in the senior race. Wellington Harrier Athletic and Wellington Scottish were the next best clubs at the championships.




Senior: Wellington Scottish (Hamish Carson, Malcolm Hodge, Daniel Jones, Kristian Day, Scott Russell, Hiro Tanimoto, Nick Horspool) 3:21:23 1, Pakuranga 3:25:14 2, Wellington Harrier Athletic Club 3:29:18 3, Auckland City Athletics 3:30:26 4. B Grade; Wesley 3:37:00 1, Pakuranga 3:53:14 2, Sumner 3:55:46 3. C Grade; Leith Harriers 4:04:45 1, Pakuranga 4:19:34 2, Glen Eden 4:23:53 3.

Masters 40-49; Wellington Scottish (Dave Parsons, Paul Barwick, Simon Keller, Grant McLean, Stephen Day, Joseph Bulbulia, Andrew Wharton) 3:41:22 1, WHAC 3:44:14 2, New Brighton Olympic 3:45:16 3. Masters 50-59; WHAC (David Creamer, Paul Bird, Dallas McCallum, Jono Hales, Paul Hewitson, Andrew Wheatley, Dave Carrigan) 3:57:26 1, ACA 4:06:54 2, Hamilton City Hawks 4:08:02 3.


Junior: Papanui Toc H (Andrew Hernandez, Mitchell Small, Dion Houston, Cameron Bartlett, Goiteom Gebremedihin, Tom Moulai) 2:29:21 1, North Harbour Bays 2:31:19 2, Auckland City Athletics 2:31:52 3.

Masters 60+: Athletics Nelson (Ian Carter, Barry Dewar, Derek Shaw, Clive Holyoake, Murray Hart, Graeme Sellars) 3:10:04 1, Auckland University 3:25:09 2, WHAC 3:27:13 3.

Walking: Trentham United (Clive McGovern, Joe Antcliff, Val Buddle, Jackie Wilson, Stephen Mair, Daniel Du Toit) 4:44:35 1, Wellington Scottish 5:12:20 2, Lake City Rotorua 5:21:40 3.



Senior: North Harbour Bays (Margie Campbell, Esther Keown, Fiona Love, Annika Pfitzinger, Ashleigh Williams, Elise Salt, Lydia ODonnell) 3:56:57 1, Hamilton City Hawks 4:09:23 2, University of Canterbury 4:13:32 3.

Masters: Hamilton City Hawks (Kirsten Milne, Helen Hall-King, Karyn McCready, Marion Millward, Katy Dawson, Maureen Leonard, Bridget Ray) 4:35:51 1, WHAC 4:41:58 2, Olympic Harriers 4:42:43 3.


Junior: Hamilton City Hawks (Aimee Ferguson, Grace Ritchie, Jemima Antoniazzi, Samantha Corbett, Emerson Deverell, Charli Miller) 2:56:50 1, WHAC 3:04:03 2, ACA 3:11:58 3.

Top Overall Club: Hamilton City Hawks 1, Wellington Harrier Athletic Club 2, Wellington Scottish 3.


Throwers Spring Series No 2, AUT Millennium Stadium North Shore - 30 September 2017

A number of personal bests were set at the second spring throwers meeting. Anthony Barmes, last seasons national youth hammer champion, had a PB in three events 5kg HT 59.96m, 6kg HT 52.36m and 700g JT 39.95m. Rizvan Caukwell 6kg HT 45.13m PB. Isaac Vaeau-Mulitalo 5kg HT 45.09m, 6kg HT 43.08m PB. Connor Bell 1.5kg DT 57.20m, 5kg SP 16.45m PB. Suluama-Rose Vaeau-Mulitalo 3kg HT 38.51m PB. Savannah Scheen 3kg HT 46.14m, 4kg HT 40.57m PB, DT 33.60m. Jayden Williamson 5kg HT 40.88m PB. Nicole Bradley HT 59.64m. Alexander Parkinson DT 49.43m.


Inter-Regional Primary and Intermediate Schools Cross Country Championships, Ashbury Park - 28 September 2017

Wellington won the Phil Costley Shield as overall winner on points. Individual results; Y8 boys 3km Sam Meecham 10:23, Jonah Seeds 10:42, Alex Martin 10:46. Y8 G 3km Anna Bassett 11:22, Edie Kozyniak 11:24, Maia Wilkinson 11:25. Y7 B 3km Jack Hunter 10:31, Nathaniel Graham 10:50, Luke Johnston 10:52. Y7 G 3km Lucy Jurke 11:42, Niamh Motley 11:59, Nicole Vance 12:08. Y6 B 2km Angus Sevier 7:15. Y6 G 2km Shinaye Toms 7:49. Y5 B 2km Joe Martin 7:21. Y5 G 2km Liliani Cuevas Haxton 8:17.


40th Round Rarotonga 31km Road Race - 23 September 2017

Adrian Lysaght of Rotorua was second in 2:03:42. Chris Smith 2:07:27 (3), Mike Bray 2:21:03 (4). Top Australian trail and ultra-runner Matt Cooper won in 1:56:06. New Zealands Kevin Ryan holds the race record of 1:38:14 set in 1979. New Zealand placings in the womens section Esther George 2:19:43 (1) (4th overall), Melissa OBrien 2:21:26 (2), Kelsey Horne 2:30:39 (4).


Australian University Games, Griffith University Athletic Track, Gold Coast Queensland: 25 September, Simon Rogers 1500m prelim 4:01.02 (1H3) Q, 27 September Simon Rogers 1500m final 3:51.72 (2). Jack Stapleton of Australia won in 3:49.95.

Mitchell Street Mile, Darwin, 17 September: Camille Buscomb 4:55.0 (6).

New Plymouth

37th Taranaki Daily News Half Marathon, Pukekura Raceway, 1 October: Robert Rawles 1:16:50, Liam Back (15) 1:19:17 (debut), Ed Whiting 1:19:49. Sasha Antunovic 1:25:08, Nina Lupton 1:34:34, Erin Vaughan 1:35:27. Walk; Alan Clarke 2:13:46. Emma Done 2:01:48. 10km; Clark Ellice 36:58. Walk; Wayne Hardy 1:08:12. 5km; Mac Rowe 17:26, Max Erkes 17:41. Walk; Ross Allen 31:47.

Aoraki Mount Cook

Aoraki Mt Cook Marathon, 23 September: Simon Green 2:54:25. Meredith Stuck 3:22:22. Half marathon Tom Williams 1:25:26. Mel Aitken 1:25:58. 10km; Oska Baynes 34:21.

- This story has been automatically published using a media release from Athletics New Zealand