Wellington Scottish made it three titles in a row in the senior mens relay at the New Zealand Road Relay Championships in Rotorua on Saturday, while North Harbour Bays women made it two in a row.

It was a dominant display by the Scottish team, with Olympic 1500m rep Hamish Carson grabbing the lead on the first leg of seven and the next six team members defended the lead to the finish.

Nick Horspool bought the team home in 3:21:23, winning by over three minutes from the Pakuranga Club with Wellington Harrier Athletic in third place, another four minutes back.

It was the Scottish clubs eighth senior mens title since they won their first in 1999. Carson, Daniel Jones and Horspool had the fastest lap times for Scottish.

North Harbour Bays repeated their win from last year in the womens race capturing their ninth senior title. Such was their dominance, that six of the seven runners had the fastest laps for the grade.

Bays won from the Hamilton City Hawks team by a big margin while University of Canterbury faded at the end to finish third.

Papanui Toc-H junior mens team from Christchurch were another team to retain their title, with strong runs from Mitchell Small and Goitem Gebremedihin. North Harbour Bays and Auckland City Athletics filled the minor placings.

Hamilton City Hawks were clear winners in the junior womens relay with fastest lap times coming from Aimee Ferguson, Grace Ritchie, Samantha Corbett and Emerson Deverell. Wellington Harrier Athletics finished eight minutes back and Auckland city Athletics were third.

Hawks last won the junior womens title in 2000, and the victory was a fitting result for manager Don Willoughby who guided the team 17 years earlier.

The Masters Men 40+ title went to Wellington Scottish, with rivals Wellington Harrier Athletic filling second place and New Brighton Olympic finishing third. Good runs for Scottish came from Simon Keller, Stephen Day and Andrew Wharton.

Wellington Harrier Athletic (M50+) and Athletics Nelson (M60+) won their masters grade titles.

Hamilton City Hawks were victorious in the masters womens race, from Wellington Harrier Athletic and Olympic Harriers. Hawks runners Marion Millward and Maureen Leonard were the fastest on their laps.

Wesley Harriers from Auckland were the Mens B grade winners and Leith Harriers from Dunedin took out the C grade title.

Trentham United won the walking section and the Social grade went to Takapuna.

Hamilton City Hawks took out the top club thanks in large to their outstanding showing with the womens relays, winning the junior and masters races and finishing second in the senior race. Wellington Harrier Athletic and Wellington Scottish were the next best clubs at the championships.


Senior Men 7 lap 62.5km

1 Wellington Scottish 3:21:23, 2 Pakuranga 3:25:14, 3 Wellington Harrier Athletic 3:29:18.

Senior Women 7 lap 62.5km

1 North Harbour Bays 3:56:57, 2 Hamilton City Hawks 4:09:23, University of Canterbury 4:13:32.

Junior Men 6 lap 46.3km

1 Papanui Toc-H 2:29:21, 2 North Harbour Bays 2:31:19, 3 Auckland City Athletic 2:31:52.

Junior Women 6 lap 46.3km

1 Hamilton City Hawks 2:56:50, 2 Wellington Harrier Athletic 3:04:03, 3 Auckland City Athletic 3:11:58.

Masters Men 40+ 7 lap 62.5km

1 Wellington Scottish 3:41:22, 2 Wellington Harrier Athletic 3:44:14, 3 New Brighton Olympic 3:45:16.

Masters Women 7 lap 62.5km

1 Hamilton City Hawks 4:35:51, 2 Wellington Harrier Athletic 4:4:41:58, 3 Olympic Harriers 4:42:43.

Open Masters 50+ 7 lap 62.5km

1 Wellington Harrier Athletic 3:57:26, 2 Auckland City Athletics 4:06:54, 3 Hamilton City Hawks 4:08:02.

Open Masters 60+ 6 lap 46.3km

1 Nelson 3:10:04, 2 Auckland University 3:25:09, 3 Wellington Harrier Athletic 3:27:13.

Top Overall Club

1 Hamilton City Hawks

- This story has been automatically published using a media release from Athletics New Zealand