The first steps have been taken in naming New Zealand's squad to tour India next month -- but part two of the group will hold more interest than today's announcement.

Nine of a squad of 15 have been revealed, but there are no new faces in the group, with six other players to be named out of the New Zealand A squad who are midway through the first of their seven matches against India A in Vijayawada.

Certain assumptions can be made on who is likely to be added into the squad.

For example, the initial nine include just one specialist spinner, allrounder Mitchell Santner. New Zealand will need at least one, if not two more in the full group.


Legspinner Ish Sodhi must be in the prime position, and he has struck some good early form on the A tour, having taken five India A wickets in their first innings 320 on day two last night, having dismissed New Zealand A for just 147.

Another leggie, Canterbury's Todd Astle is also a chance to get an extension of his time in India.

The only wicketkeeper among the nine is Tom Latham, and it's likely another will be picked.

There are three on the A tour, Northern Districts Tim Seifert, Wellington's Tom Blundell and Auckland's top order batsman Glenn Phillips.

Phillips is playing only the one-day leg of the A tour but is a good chance to show all the talk about his potential is not misplaced.

There will be at least one, if not two, middle order batsmen to be added and a seamer, with Matt Henry heading that particular queue to join Trent Boult, Tim Southee and Adam Milne.

What this naming does is clear the air for the NZ A players, who now know how many of them have been assured of a promotion.

"With a number of our top guys already playing in India, it's helpful to be able to select the squad in two parts. ''With six spots left, there's an obvious incentive for the players in New Zealand A to perform and put their best foot forward," national coach Mike Hesson said.

Two players omitted are allrounder Jimmy Neesham and batsman Neil Broom. Both were in the senior side last season but neither was a raging success at the Champions Trophy in England and both need to work their way back into favour.

"We've talked through the areas that we'd like to see them work on and if we see development they'll certainly both come into the reckoning come the home summer," Hesson added.

The senior tour starts with the first ODI in Mumbai on October 22.

New Zealand tour squad for India*: Kane Williamson (captain), Martin Guptill, Tom Latham, Ross Taylor, Colin de Grandhomme, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Adam Milne, Trent Boult.

*Six other players from New Zealand A squad currently in India will be named shortly.