The Aon New Zealand Under 17 team has been officially named today ahead of their tour of the Philippines, departing this Wednesday.

The will be traveling to Manilla in preparation for the Under 16- FIBA Asia Championships, to be held in October (FIBA has yet to announce the host nation).

The Kiwis will be hosted by Ateneo University, which is one of the highest profile universities in the Philippines, known for its academic and sporting reputation.

The visit has been made possible through the help of Tab Baldwin. The former Tall Blacks and Breakers coach has established himself in the Philippines since 2014, where he was appointed head coach of the famous Gilas, the national Filipino team. Baldwin has since stepped down from the Gilas Head Coach role. While he still advises the Filipino national programme, his coaching duties have been employed by Ateneo University as the schools premieres mens basketball coach.

Head Coach of the Aon New Zealand Under 17 team, Dave Bublitz, says Tab Baldwin has been instrumental in arranging this amazing opportunity for this young New Zealand team.

"Tab has set up an eight day programme consisting of seven games against local universities, high schools and two games against the Filipino National U 16 team.

"The squad will stay, eat and play in the University compound. The athletes will experience the style of basketball that they will most likely come up against in the FIBA Asia Championship, as well as acclimatizing to the local cuisine and the different levels of heat and humidity.

"It is an exciting opportunity for the athletes to cement their spots for the Asia Champs in October."

Aon New Zealand Under 17 Mens Squad to travel to the Philippines:

- Shalom Broughton (Tauranga Basketball Association)

- Tom Cowie (Southland Basketball Association)

- Mitchell Dance (Harbour Basketball Association)

- Haven Dixon (Wellington Basketball Association)

- Hayen Druce (Harbour Basketball Association)

- Kainoa Lepou (Waikato Basketball Association)

- Cullen Marsters (Waikato Basketball Association)

- Louis Oskam Waitaha (Canterbury Basketball Association)

- Sharne Perham (Rotorua Basketball Association)

- Te Tuaio Rautangata (Waikato Basketball Association)

- Anzac Rissetto (Auckland Basketball Services Ltd)

- Jaylin Too (Waikato Basketball Association)

- Marvin Williams-Dunn (Auckland Basketball Services Ltd)


- David Bublitz - Head Coach

- Doug Courtney - Assistant Coach

- Aaron Young - Assistant Coach and Stats

- Delwyn Whale - Manager

- This story has been automatically published using a media release from Basketball New Zealand