A four-strong women's team has been named to represent New Zealand at July's world junior squash championships in Tauranga.

The quartet will join two individual women players and five junior men.

Palmerston North's Kaitlyn Watts, current Oceania under 19 champion national junior champion, leads the team. She competed at the world champs in Eindhoven, Holland, two years ago.

Auckland's Anna Hughes, who is on a squash scholarship at Philadelphia's Drexel University, is a multiple age group titleholder.


Anika Jackson has aunt Leilani Rorani, two-time British Open champion, to lean on for encouragement while Camden Te Kani-McQueen comes from well known Rotorua squash stock, father Danny a former nationally ranked player.

Reserve Nadia Hubbard and Rhiarne Taiapa will contest the individual competition, while six men have been named for the individual men's event.

Under 19 Oceania champion Finn Trimble of Whangarei leads the team, which also includes North Shore pair Matthew Lucente and Gabe Yam, Marlborough's Quinn Udy, Southlander Mitchell Kempton and Hamilton's Lwamba Chileshe.

The championships run from July 19-28. It is 28 years since New Zealand last hosted the champs. Egypt will be chasing a fifth successive title at the event.

28 Apr, 2017 7:21am
2 minutes to read